September 21st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Aaron Hughes
Nickname – Short Fuse
Record – 0 wins 2 losses
Weight – 145 pounds
Team – Regiment Training Center

Where are you from ?
Fall River Massachusetts

How long have you been training ?
Almost 3 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
My brother used to fight, and I was bullied in high school and wanted to learn to defend myself.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Short Fuse, and someone gave it to me because I have a bad temper.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I went to a Muay Thai class and I fell in love.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My mom hates it but she’s super supportive, my friends support me a ton.

What is your current record ?
0-2 unfortunately.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I love the darting right hand ala Dominic Cruz, Eddie Alvarez.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Dominic Cruz, that man was out for three years, comes back and wins the title

What team do you train with ?
Regiment Training Center. And Pro Fitness. Both in fall river

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I consider myself a striker even though I got knocked out last time around, I prefer to stand.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
lots of hard work and dedication. I’ve sacrificed a lot.

What weight do you fight at ?
145′ but eventually 135.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My heart, my hard work and my dedication, and something I’ve worked a lot on, my foot work.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Tj Dillashaw.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Both fights were tough, but definitely when I fought Sean Murrin, that man hit me so hard.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I trained my ass off now it’s time for battle.

Who are you fighting next ?
I don’t have any upcoming fights due to injury.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Cage Titans.

Date and time of your next fight ?
To be announced.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I never back down from a fight.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“When my body says stop, you’re tired you should quit, it makes me almost want to do it more because normal people can’t do that.”- Dominick Cruz

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I won a Judo tournament in the brown belt division as a yellow belt.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Dominick Cruz or Tj Dillashaw.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Ronda Rousey, she made women’s MMA HUGE.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I like to use footwork and cut lots of angles.

What drives or motivates you?
I want to win so bad.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I used to make money playing Call Of Duty.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Literally fighting is my life, if I’m not training I’m spending time with my girlfriend or watching fights trying to improve.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
The younger you start the better.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Probably playing Call Of Duty for money.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Just listen to music.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Hopefully its mainstream enough that fighters are getting paid what they should be.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Hopefully in the UFC.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I think fighters need to speak their minds more about fighter pay.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I have three that I watch a lot Mighty Mouse, Dillashaw, and Cruz.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to thank all my coaches, Tommy Texeira, Brian Raposo, Andrew Featherstone, and Ben Pittsley. Id also like to thank two of my training partners in Mitch Raposo and Matty Franco.

 

