September 23rd 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Mina Lamoure
Nickname – Lights Out
Record – 4 wins 1 loss 1 draw
Weight – 52kg (114 pounds)
Team – Team Tieu

Where are you from ?
London.

How long have you been training ?
7 years, fighting for 2 years.

How did you get into Muay Thai ?
Was looking for a Martial Arts to do and my good friend from uni suggested Muay Thai.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
“Lights Out”, my first coach gave me the name after knocking a girl out.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
When i got my first taste of it in the ring at an interclub.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai?
Some where and others weren’t.

What is your current record ?
4-1-1.

What is your favorite strike to use in a fight ?
Everything lol, Overhands and sweeps.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I love Tiffany Van Soest.

What team do you currently train with ?
Team Tieu.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I do Thai boxing so always stand up.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Having heart.

What weight do you fight at ?
52kg.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
All fighters have a lot of the same attributes but I would say for me its heart, will and determination.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Ooooohh, I don’t know, top female in my category.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Swedish girl, Josephine Lindgren, my only loss.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
To do my best and then give some more and get the win.

Who are you fighting next ?
Kelly Haynes at the O2 London, 15th of October.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in her game at you can exploit ?
Shes a brawler, ill see when I’m in the ring with her.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Muay Thai Grand Prix 6.

Date and time of your next fight ?
15th of October, doors open at 4pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Being an exciting to watch fighter.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Tyson.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Promoters of big shows such as Muay Thai Grand Prix, Yakkoa and The Main Event.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Powerful, evasive and still evolving.

What drives or motivates you ?
To be the best I can be in my weight category.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I used to do gymnastics and can still do a flip or 2 lol.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would be an Accountant in some city firm.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I just like to psyche myself up ready for war, i like to hit pads hard and do a little sparring.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
Nothing but the task ahead.

Who is your favourite fighter?
Females: Tiffany Van Soest. Miriam Nakamoto and Germaine de Randamie.
Males: Badr Hari, Mohammed Jaraya and Ilyas Bulaid.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I love good food and good company and spending time with those that matter to me the most.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My Southern Area Title.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in Muay Thai ?
Just that it’s a male dominated sport sometimes it’s looked down upon sometimes by those closest to you, so in short lack of support.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
If your passionate don’t give up, keep working towards your goals and you will move closer to them and don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t.

Where do you see women’s Muay Thai in the next 5 years ?
Growing in popularity.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
On a beach relaxing hopefully lol.

What are your goals within the sport ?
Just to go as far as I can and to be the best i possibly can.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Thank you to everyone and anyone that has ever supported me on this journey.

To stay up to date with all the latest news From Mina click the link below and check out her fan page

wp-1474643595433.jpg

