September 26th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Kenny Mims
Nickname – Kong
Record – 3 wins 2 losses
Weight – 245 pounds
Team – Cannon

Where are you from ?
Greenwood, Mississippi.

How Long have you been training Mixed Martial Arts ?
On and off probably 15 years.

How did you get into MMA ?
I passed by the Civic Center in my home town, saw that they had an MMA fight coming to town. Looked into it, found the man in charge and asked if he could find someone for me to fight.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Kenny Kong.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do ?
It was all I could think about. I joined the United States Marine Corps because I had no where close for actual MMA or Boxing training. When I was 19 and 20 the UFC was growing substantially, every commercial during UFC was the USMC. I figured I could get my training there.

When you decided to pursue MMA as a career where your family and friends supportive ?
My family was always supportive, I had some really tough well known brothers a lot older than me growing up. Everybody knew who they were, they were both street fighters but competed in tough man events. Bc of them I guess it was easier for me to be accepted into it just because they knew it was part of who we are.

What is your current record ?
3-2.

What is your favorite strike to Utilize in a fight
Favorite strike is the Jab.

What is your favorite submission ?
Favorite submission is Rear Naked Choke.

wp-1474897712674.jpg

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration second to God is my wife.

What team do you train with ?
Cannon motors of ms ha we don’t have a team yet. Just me and a couple of buddies with a fight Club. I just broke the first rule about fight Club so don’t tell anybody.

Where do you prefer the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I like to do both but whatever it takes to win.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means you are a warrior, it doesn’t matter who they put in front of you, you believe deep down in your soul you can win. You don’t really have a fighters spirit if you don’t believe in yourself.

What weight do you fight at ?
Heavyweight. 240-245 pounds.

What separates you from other fighters ?
My strength and mentality.

Which of your opponents has posed the greatest challenge to you ?
Goldman Butler.

What is your mindset going into fight night ?
I’m calm in my mindset it doesn’t get to me really. I don’t get anxious or anything it all feels natural to me.

Who are you fighting next ?
Logan Woods for the Heavyweight Title in SFC.

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to exploit in your opponents game when you step in the cage ?
He’s a great striker, the only hole I see in his game is he was cocky and wanting a fight so bad that he called me out for a heavyweight fight which has now turned into a title fight.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
SFC.

Date and time of your next fight ?
October 1st fights start at 7pm

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your MMA career ?
I don’t have to be remembered as the best I just want to be remembered as a strong competitor and more than anything as someone who gave all glory to God because i wouldn’t be here if it was not the life that was chose for me. God has blessed me abundantly, all I want to be remembered for at the end of my fight career is loving God.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
I can do all things through him who gives me strength Philippians 4 :13.

What has been your biggest accomplishment ?
Biggest accomplishment thus far is just being a competitor in this sport, having the balls to get in a cage and do it.

Who has had the biggest impact on you and your MMA career ?
My father in the beginning and now my wife is great she was a corner man in my last fight and for my next fight.Also my son is becoming a huge influence.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Brawler.

What drives and motivates you to fight ?
The next fight being set up is what motivates me. Knowing I will be getting in the cage with someone wanting to knock my head off drives me to train.

What is one thing fans might not know about you ?
I’m a car salesman for Cannon Motors of Ms and can get you a great deal on all kinds of new, Nissan, Chevy, Cadillac, Buick, jeep, dodge, ram, Chrysler, Honda, Toyota, and all types of high-end and quality pre owned vehicles

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Sleeping and hunting.

What advice can you give to the next generation of Mixed Martial Artist ?
Never give up on your dreams or be afraid to chase them. If an opportunity is put in front of you grasp it and keep pushing forward win or lose. Never give up.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
I think I have always been known as a fighter but i guess I’d be selling cars or living on a cruise ship somewhere, that’d be nice.

What gets you ready to step in the cage ?
The way the fans react or act gets me pretty hyped up.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to fight ?
I usually stay really calm and just take it all in and work on controlling my breathing.

Where do you see MMA as a sport in 5 years ?
MMA is growing and I hope in 5 years it can be a sport in high schools like wrestling.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Respectful fighters not taking trash talk to an extreme but keeping it fun. And not only that but the fans are the worst at trash talk. They know they don’t have to get in the cage with you but think they can talk all the crap about you true or not and not have to worry about it. I hate that.

Who is your favorite fighter
Brock Lesnar or Donald Cerrone both have my respect. My all time favorite is Randy Coture.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I thank God, and for his son Jesus. I thank my wife my son and all my friends and family. I want to give a shout out to all my fans and customers. Come see the only car salesman you need to know get the belt and bring it back to CGannon Motors of Ms in reenwood. Be there October 1st in Jackson Ms, it’s going down.

wp-1474897717189.jpg

