September 27th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Mikayla Thompson
Nickname – Mi-Killa Gorilla
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Weight – 132-135 pounds
Team -Kroyler Gracie BJJ

Where are you from ?
I am from south bend Indiana.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for almost 3 years.

How did you get in to MMA / Boxing ?
I was always tough as a kid and decided at 5-7 I wanted to fight.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Mi-Killa Gorilla is my fight name and it comes from my favorite cartoon Miguilla Gorilla.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
Fighting made me happy because I love it and I felt safe like I can protect myself.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA and Boxing ?
I never had many friends because I was bullied but my family are big supporters.

What is your current record ?
My current record Is 1-0 in MMA.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike, I love my left uppercut based on Mike Tyson’s techniques. My favorite submission is the armbar. Just because I’m fascinated a human being has the ability to use something so powerful.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
A big inspiration to me is Mike Tyson, Ronda Rousey, and all my coaches.

What team do you train with ?
I havent really been involved in a team lately but I was with kroyler Gracie BJJ in Indiana and I’m currently with Lucky Punch Promotions now.

Where do you like to take the fight do you like to stand and throw punches or take it to the ground ?
I like ground and stand up. I’m good with both as I am also on the GW high school boys wrestling team.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
The cage/ring is my world. I have no ,this or that. Fighting to me means women are awesome. I don’t have to waste my life behind a computer to make good money and live.

wp-1474980593406.jpg

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight 132-135 possibly more later on.
What separates you from other fighters ?
I am willing to fight like a man. I hit like a man. I train with all men. Spar with all men. I am scared of no man. I’m stronger than the average 17 year old girl. Not just physically, but in my heart.. Spiritually.

What has been your toughest challenge or fight since starting your MMA career?
Any fight can be tough, my toughest fight so far involves me, the heavy bag those heavy gloves and a screaming coach. The urge to go on when my body is screaming no! We train hard to fight easy.

What is your mindset going into fight night ?
I try to keep it professional in the cage. Respectful, but until that last bell rings, no matter who the winner is, my thoughts are simple. I don’t know you but I dislike you. Simple as that.I’m not here to play games.

Who are you fighting next ?
My next fight will be with some 19 year old I believe, not sure. I don’t care tho. If I’m worried about who I’m fighting then I’m not training my mind correctly.

 

What holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
Who cares I will see her fine when I see the light drain from her eyes. She’s not my friend. Not yet at least. I’m not intimidated however I am smart I don’t underestimate. I just train hard. In my mind I’m under the impression I’m fighting Leila Ali. So I train as If that’s who I’m fighting.

Date and time of your next fight ?
I have a fight September 24th.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered in this world of the forgotten. Not my appearance though. My soul, my heart, my drive. That I’m willing to do what some men would never think of doing in the fight world. A woman who fights like a man.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
To be honest, myself. Anyone can tell you something but will you listen? Well I listen to my heart.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I believe this sport can affect anyone. This sport isn’t easy. It’s for warriors. I’m a female in willing to break arms, suplex, one punch KO again a woman who fights like a man. I’ve always wanted to move to Cali. And I will no doubt. I’m tough and I believe in living life to the fullest. You only live once.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I’m a dare devil. A logical one who plans on living long Lol.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
If I wasnt fighting under the lights, i would be fighting in the streets. Standing up for my emotions. Bullying can hurt. Bad.

What gets you prepared to step in the ring or cage on fight night do you have any pre fight rituals that get you in the right mind set ?
My pre fight is being calm, almost seeing how awesome my life will be. I sit and stare and all I see is a timeline of my life. flash before my eyes. Embedded in my brain. I think I can have that million $ trans am, just win this fight.

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage / ring ?
What I think? I’m not sure. My mind goes blank. I suppose one big thing I think of is my reputation. My name. It’s not just my name. I think If I die, I’m a legend. I can’t fear you if you bleed too.

Who is your favorite Fighter ?
Mike Tyson is my favorite. His combos are beautiful.

When you’re not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I’m not fighting I workout. I want to be a fitness trainer as well as a pro fighter. I’m happy I’m free I have a purpose. What more can I ask for?

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
They become old fast.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
stand out, be yourself, and don’t be sympathetic, they want to hurt you just as much.

Where do you see women’s MMA and Boxing in the next 5-10 years ?
Boring if we don’t step it up.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Next 5 years? Hopefully in my beautiful California condo with my crazy supportive boyfriend holding one of my many title belts.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To be a legend, to inspire, to have fun.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
Id like to thank my coaches: Randy witcher, kroyler Gracie, Marcus luck, and as crazy as it sounds my new self. Because I never gave up. I am the only one that gets me up on my feet. My coaches can scream at me, my dad can motivate me but at the end of the day, my drive is what makes me fight through my blood, sweat, and tears. Anyone can tell me go, don’t quit but my heart is what pushes me on. No one has MY heart. Thank you.

wp-1474980575653.jpg

