October 6th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Erion Zekthi
Nickname – The Albanian One
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Weight – 135-152 pounds
Team – Wolves Den Training Center

 

Where are you from ?
I was born in Tirana Albania, but I have lived in Saint Louis MO for 17 years.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training off and on for 5 years while I was in school.

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into MMA from a friend of mine shortly after my mother passed away from breast cancer; I was deeply shaken up by the loss at the time so it helped me immensely.

Can you tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Haha “The Albanian One” was a nickname kind of coined from my teammates. They didn’t know where Albania was and I was the only Albanian they knew of so they called me “that Albanian one” it stuck!

What was the defining moment when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do?
The defining moment for me was after my first fight. I was immediately hooked on all the emotion and feelings that came with fighting. I became obsessed.

When you decided to pursue MMA as a career where your family and friends supportive of your decision ?
My friends were always supportive of fighting however my brother and father hated that I did it. It wasn’t until the last couple years when I was 8-0 and 9-0 that they came around.

What is your current record ?
My current record is 1-0 as a pro but I was undefeated as an amateur 10-0 Fight Hard bantam and featherweight champion and Shamrock FC featherweight champ.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Favorite submission would be the “Albanian Neck Hug” or as some would call it the “Japanese neck tie” I just landed this sub in my pro debut.

Where do you like your fights to take place do you like to stand and use your striking or take it to the ground ?
I love to take guys down and just impose my will, but when im standing I love moving around switching stances and using unorthodox angles to strike.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means you will fight anyone at any time, not for money or fame but because you love the thrill and challenge! It’s the realist way to test yourself physically.

You are also an ambassador for Fighting For Autism can you tell us a little about that ?
Fighting For Autism is a fantastic organization that raises not only awareness for this terrible aliment but also provides many with means to live a healthy fruitful life with it. I’m just blessed to be able to support Brian Higginbotham to any capacity!

What is one thing you would want to tell people about Autism ?
One thing I’d want to tell people about Autism is that the men and women who have it are no different from you or I they still have that human fire for growth and unending desire to succeed.

What weight do you fight at ?
I have fought from 135 to 152 pounds so a wide range of weight, I always just took the tough fights, I didn’t care about weight.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
My dream fight would be against Bruce Lee, I’d love to see how id hang!

What is your mindset going into fight night ?
My mindset going into a fight is utter domination; beat this man in all possible ways both physically and mentally. I want my opponents to always remember the ass whooping I put on them.

Is there anyone you want to thank ?
I would like to thank Esmond ford. He was the first man to teach me im not the biggest fish in the pond and I got to work if I ever want to be the best.

wp-1475717685615.jpg

