October 7th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Patrick Doran
Record – 7 wins 3 losses
Weight – 62kg-69kg (136-152 pounds)
Team – Fight Club N.I.

Where are you from?
Craigavon Ireland.

how long have you training ?
I trained on and off for years but I only started to take it serious the past 2 years.

how did you get into MMA ?
My dad always loved it so I had fighting around me my whole life, the older I got the more I loved it.

whats your nickname and how did you get it ?
I don’t have a nickname at the minute, if any one has any suggestions im open haha.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
After my first fight, it was crazy the buzz I got off it.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes, the support I get from every one is crazy, my family love it and my friends give me nothing apart from support. I wouldn’t be working as hard if it wasn’t for them.

What is your current record ?
I am pretty sure my record is 7-3 or some thing along those lines.

What is your favourite strike ?
It would have to be either be an overhand right or a left hook to the body.

Who is your biggest inspiration?
My dad, his work ethic is crazy and he makes me motivated.

wp-1475844099275.jpg

What team do you train with ?
Fight Club N.I. we are more of a family then a team.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It’s a part of who I am now.

What weight do you fight at ?
I have fought from 69kg the whole way down to 62kg, I prefer 62kg to be honest, I feel best at that weight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My heart, I will push through to the very end no matter how bad it’s going for me and im always looking for the win even when it seems I have no chance.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I would love to fight Dominic Cruz, just to be in there with him and see his movement and angles would be class. Id hopefully be able to steal a trick or two.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I fought Owen Evans in England a few months ago for a British K1 title, he messed me up pretty bad. Loved it though. I have had a few tough fights because at Fight Club N.I we don’t just take fights we know we can win we always go for the biggest challenge.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I am filled with confidence. I tell my self this fight is mine to win or to lose, it’s up to me.

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting Nicky Dullard in my next fight for a all-Ireland low kick title.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I don’t really know any thing about him and I don’t care, im just going to focus on what I can do.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Total full contact (TFC)

Date and time of your next fight ?
My next fight is at the Seago Hotel in Portadown on the 8th of October. Great show.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career?
For always giving it every thing I got.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
The more you sweat in times of peace the less you bleed in times of war.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Loads of people have been very influential to my career I couldn’t just name one.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Diana white because if it wasn’t for him MMA would still be looked down at.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Pressured counter striker. I keep moving forward but I am always looking for the counter attack.

What drives or motivates you ?
To be the best I can be.

What is something people might not know about you ?
People know everything about me, I don’t hide any thing. I am who I am and I show it.

When you are not training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I normally just like to relax, when your working full-time and training a lot its hard work, you just need to chill out to let your body recover.

What advice would you give to a young fighters ?
Learn from every session and every fight. And don’t be to hard on your self, I have been really hard on my self in the past and it hasn’t helped me out at all.

What would you be doing if you werent a fighter ?
I have no idea, probably be up to no good, fighting keeps me right.

What gets you hyped before a fight or do you have any rituals that prepare you for stepping in the cage ?
No not really, I just try to stay as relaxed as possible. I warm up and joke about with my team mates as if im warming up for a normal training session.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I honestly don’t know, hopefully competing at a high level.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport?
Just keep doing what they’re doing.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Dominic Cruz

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Fight Club N.I.

wp-1475844051476.jpg

