October 10th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Peggy Ross
Nickname – The Truth
Weight – 115-125 pounds
Record – 4 wins 0 losses
Team – Apex and Atos

Where are you from ?
I am originally from Chicago Ill.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 5 years now.

How did you get into Mixed Martial Arts ?
I got into MMA while I was living in Okinawa Japan, due to orders my husband received from the Marines. I was in the gym one day hitting the bag (with the little boxing I had) and Boxing Coach Nelson Lebron approached me saying that I had pretty good hands and he could make them better. He then introduced me to Coach Chris Kessler who made me fall in love with Muay Thai and Professor Ivan Sakamoto who taught me the art of Jiujitsu.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
I remember one sparring session in particular before I had ever fought, I was going with a military police officer, a little bigger than me, and he was throwing punches at me like I was talking about his mother…he was literally beating the shit out of me and I was trying to hold back tears and make it til the end of the round. In the middle of this ass kicking I was taking he smirked and said..this is a mans sport honey… I guess that’s all it took…. (I felt like I was having that Now or Never moment) I lit him up with a flurry of punches and hit him with a cross that put him through the ropes and almost knocked him out. That moment changed everything for me..anyone can hit a bag or mitts and look good, but can they hit a moving person? Someone that is bigger, stronger, faster?.. I did.

When you made the decision to pursue MMA as a career what was the reaction of your family and friends where they supportive ?
My friends and family thought I was out of my mind.. even my husband was pretty leary and extremely concerned for my safety.

What is your current record ?
My official ammy record 4-0 although I have fought 8 times, not all of the promotions were legit
My final ammy bout was put into sherdog as pro, even tho it wasn’t but I have plans of going pro this year anyway so I’m not too worried about it.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
My favorite strike is definitely a solid upper cut, submission triangle.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration are my kids. They live this life style of constant training, late nights, early mornings, weekends, weight cuts right a long with us..they think I’m unstoppable.

What team do you train with ?
I currently train with Apex and Atos.

Where do like to take the fight do you prefer to keep it standing and throw hands or go to the ground ?
I like to keep the fight standing…although I’m very comfortable on the ground, I want to go to war, punch for punch kick for kick, I want to put on a show and prove my striking is far superior.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I think being a fighter means I’m not afraid of anything. I charge full speed ahead knowing my talents and skill set, trusting my mind to make the right decisions, and depending on my heart to make it.

What weight do you fight at ?
I usually fight at 125 but I am moving down to 115 as a pro.

wp-1476051678246.jpg

What separates you from other female fighters in your weight class ?
I think what separates me from other women in my weight class is my knowledge of fighting and being able to mix it up. I really do believe that you either have it or you don’t, and if there was anything I ever understood it was fighting.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
My dream fight would be against Rose Namajunas. I love that she wants to get in the cage and bang and her technique is insane.

Who are you fighting next ?
Im currently looking for the next fight, down for any legit promotion.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for being ruthless in the cage.

Who has been most influential to you in your MMA career ?
Honestly the most influential people in my career has been my teammates..the way they believe in me, makes me want it even more.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is I want to get straight to it. I want to strike a lot and mix it up. Usually a round two turn it up fighter.

What is something people might not know about you ?
most people don’t know that I was heavily involved in music my entire life. I was a dancer, singer and have been playing the violin since I was 8.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
If I wasn’t a fighter I don’t know who I would be or what Id be doing right now. This is the most passionate I’ve ever been about anything other than basketball but I wasn’t tall enough or good enough to make it far in that sport. 🙂

Take us through your pre fight rituals what do you do to prepare yourself to step in the cage ?
I do a lot of meditation a lot of reflecting on my camp and what I’ve been working on …..I also do a lot yelling to push out bad energy or any self-doubt, like just yelling into the air as I am running or something…as a ritual.

Your backstage your music plays what is going through your head as you walk out to the cage ?
When I hear my music I go from freaking out, to thinking “you can still leave right now” to get you’re shit together, and she doesn’t even know that kind of ass kicking she’s about to get let’s go!!!

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Hands down favorite fighter of all time is Anderson Silva.

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
In my free time I like to play basketball, spend time with my husband and play with my kids.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I think my biggest accomplishment so far has been gaining respect as a female fighter in Okinawa Japan where women is combat sports was not encouraged while I lived there.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
The biggest challenge of a female fighter is trying to not be such a woman but remembering you still are one. The guys don’t want you around if you’re slowing them down or can’t hang, they want you to be good enough to give them work so you’re not wasting their time, but if you hit them as hard as they hit you, their going to hit you like a man because they feel you’re trying to “be one.” Be good, just not better than them”. This has been my experience in many gyms, especially while cross training.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
I would tell young female fighters that their biggest fights will be outside of the cage and even if its them against everyone else, stand their ground.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself in the UFC in the next 5 years.

What are your goals in the sport ?
My goals are to be a champion and mentor in the sport.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
Id like to thank my Mother for teaching me to be strong and push forward no matter what, my husband SSGT. Albert Ross for supporting me in every way and serving our country. I want to thank my kids Celia and Aj for motivating me and loving me while being raised in the gym, and my teammates and coaches over the last 5 years.

fb_img_1472088281994.jpg

