October 11th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Yeison Berdugo
Nickname – Yayyoo
Weight – 130-135 pounds
Record – 1 win 2 losses
Team – Spartan Muay Thai

Where are you from ?
I am from Rhode Island.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
I always wanted to try Muay Thai and finally got the chance to show my talent on a big stage fighting for Lion Fight Promotions.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My cousin Dre got me the name why cause I was the fighter of the group and the only one without a name so he wanted to get something the people would get stuck saying it once.. Hahhaa and here we go 10 years later the biggest name out there on social media!!

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ? During college and when my grandpa got killed in Colombia.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai ?Family I am still working at it they don’t like the fighting industry….friends I don’t have much I got family they know who they are and yes they were supportive.

What is your current record ?
1-2 ready to get back in the mix.

What is your favorite strike ?
I would say my Superman Punch.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My grandparents and the way they raised me to be.

What team do you train with ?
I train with the one and only Spartan Muay Thai.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It means respect focus and discipline but I don’t wanna be known as a fighter but more for the person I am inside.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight 130-135.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Just being Yayyoo the happiest man out there.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Jose Aldo.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
No one yet!!

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I am going to win this fight!!

Who are you fighting next ?
No idea till the big boss Scott Kent decides.

what holes or weaknesses will you look to exploit in your opponent during this fight ?
For my new training camp we are working on some new techniques.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For being the happiest man with a smile that can make anyone have a beautiful day.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Self motivation me!!!

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Myself 1st fight having fight of the year 2015..lol.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Unique.

What drives or motivates you to step in the ring ?
What drives me is my family here and in Colombia they motivate me.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I have no idea!! I do it all!! 🙏🏻

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I don’t get hyped it’s just part of my life now.I do it for the love of the sport!!

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
For Lion Fight we can’t have our music playing so they pick for us.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Jose Aldo MMA and Muay Thai Alexandre Cosmo.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Try and enjoy my time off with whatever I can do.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Having fight of the year in 2015 and a Superman KO from my last fight and I am the 1st Colombian fighting for Lion Fight Promotions.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Follow your dreams.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
With a couple of titles. 😜

What are your goals within the sport ?
Going for the belt.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Alejandro Ottich, Mike, Yuca, Gisela, Jamie Bradley, my sponsors and my new management team TAC.

wp-1476147923894.jpg

