wp-1476233678793.jpg

October 12th 2016

Name – Mehdi Chakri
Nickname – Monster
Weight – 81 kg (178 pounds)
Record – 55 wins 1 loss 4 draws
Team – Champions Hay Hassani Boxing

What country are you from ?
I’m from Morocco it’s a beautiful country in Africa.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training in martial arts since I was 7 years old more than 20 years.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you want to become a fighter ?
All my childhood I grew up with the knowledge that i wanted to be a professional fighter. I love fighting it is in my blood.

What is the current record ?
My professional record is 60 fights with 55 wins.

What is your favorite strike ?
I have many.

Who has been your biggest inspiration in the fight game?
The biggest source of inspiration to me is me Muhammad Ali,

What team do you train with?
I represent the Champions Hay Hassani Boxing.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter for me is a broad concept. This includes not only the fighting or training to fight, but all aspects of life. It’s a way of life, and there are an infinite number of things that martial arts give us.

What weight do you fight ?
81kg.

What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
I’m a stronger fighter.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
I have many years in the sport. There have been many heroes in this period of time. I do not have a specific name, and I’m ready to fight with anyone.

Who has been your toughest opponent ?
Every battle is tough. There is no easy battle. I prepare the same for each battle very serious, focused and spending long hours in the training facility.

What is yourmindset going into fight night?
My mentality is that everything is done correctly in the fight.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am coming off a big championship win in Morocco
Can you tell us a little bit about the moments leading up to this fight?
I trained very hard for this fight with my coaches.

What where your thoughts on your opponent ?
My opponent was strong, he was a good striker, experienced, and more than 40 professional fights .I wanted to fight with the plan and the techniques I built to win.

When can we expect to see you back in the ring ?
I would like to fight again as soon as possible! I feel a lot of energy. Fortunately, I finished the fight without any injurys

What holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponent that you can exploit during a fight ?
I look for any gaps and weaknesses. Boxing Is a very complete martial art and there are many techniques to be used in a fight.

What do you want to be remembered for in the end of your career ?
I love being a versatile fighter my main style boxing.I also competed a lot in Olympic Boxing. I try to apply the best techniques in Boxing and I love Boxing rules that allow me to do so.At the present time Boxing is an art of self-defense in the most complicated position.

Who has been most influential to you in your career?
Muhammad Ali the legend.

Who do you feel had the greatest impact on the sport?
From the perspective of inspiring millions of people I think the greatest impact hs come from the fighters who acted in films, Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Chuck Norris and Jean-Claude Van Damme, Cynthia Rothrock, and modern fighter jets, of course, who are acting now. It may also have the biggest impact of all masters of martial arts who have created privately their own philosophy and style. Every coach who raises there fighters and make them be better.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I try to fight in an offensive manner but I never forget about the defense.

Why do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
I can not even imagine it.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I like Muhammad Ali and Ramon Dekkers.

When you are not training what you enjoy doing in your free time?
I love to cook various national foods, and I love to swim and drive.

What has been your biggest achievement in the sport so far?
Being a champion in Morocco and Africa.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
To love the sport they are doing.
Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I love to fight, and I love the atmosphere of fighting, the drive in my life the travels this is why I will try to keep competeing as long as possible.

Is there anyone you want to thank ?
I want to thank my mother.

