wp-1476329137673.jpg

October 13th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Cletus Seldin
Nickname – The Hebrew Hammer
Weight – 140 pounds
Record – 19 wins 0 losses with 16 Knockouts
Team – Westbury Boxing Gym

 
Where are you from ?
Long Island, NY grew up in Shirley.

 
How long have you been training ?
I have been training my entire life in athletics.

 
How did you get into Boxing ?
I was a 3 sport athlete in high school so once I graduated I decided to pick up MMA which then turned into boxing. I liked boxing more cause it was more challenging.

 
Can you tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
The nick name Hebrew Hammer comes from my amateur career when fans would see me tko or ko someone they would say I have a hammer in my right hand and would ask what my background was so from there the Hebrew hammer was made.

 
What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a professional Boxer ?
My defining moment was when I went to a boxing gym for the first time and got my ass whooped after that I wanted to take on the challenge.

 
Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to pursue Boxing as a career ?
Only my brother was supportive when I started boxing, no one ever believed or cared.Everyone around me thought it was a hobby.

 
What is your current record ?
19-0 (16)ko’s.


What is your favorite strike to use in a fight ?
Over hand right is the hammer punch.

 
Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My brother he is a 1st generation doctor just like I’m a 1st generation Boxer.

 
What team do you train with ?
I train out of the Westbury boxing gym with trainers who all were taught under my head trainer Pete Brodsky.

 
Would you describe yourself as an offensive or defensive Boxer ?
I am an offensive machine who doesn’t get hit.

 
What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me is someone who went after something when everyone else shied away. If its a fighter in the ring or a fighter in a corporate business its anyone who’s willing to risk it all.

 
What weight do you fight at ?
140lbs junior welterweight.

 
What separates you from other fighters in your weight class ?
My strength I’m the strongest 140lb fighter on the planet.

 
If you where given the opportunity to have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Dream fight would be with Henry Armstrong the greatest FIGHTER that ever lived.

 
Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
Clarence Booth was in my eyes the toughest cause I was undefeated and he was as well. it was the toughest cause I was new to Boxing and had to fight off more heart then technique.

 
What is your mindset heading into a fight ?
Going into a fight my mind set is always the same and that is don’t leave anything in the ring with doubt and always know I put everything into training.

 
What holes or weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponents when you step in the ring with them ?
fighters in Boxing have minimum physique and since I know I’m the strongest they are at a disadvantage.

 
What promotion do you fight for ?
Star Boxing.

 
Date and time of your next fight ?
TBD.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for all the hard work and support that my team and fans were able to share with me.

 
What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“In this ring the truth will find you”.

 
What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Becoming ranked number 4 in the world by the WBC.

 
Who has been the biggest influence on you and your boxing career ?
My head trainer the great legend Pete Brodsky.

 
Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
The biggest impact doesn’t relate to me cause fighters come and go and there’s always another one being pushed to become the next big thing.

 
How would you describe your fighting style ?
I fight an old school style like rocky Marciano.


What drives you to step in the ring and compete ?
Myself and the constant challenges I put in front of me.

 
What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a huge collector of toys.

 
When you are not training or preparing for a fight what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
I enjoy being with my girlfriend and finding new hobby’s with her.

 
What advice can you impart on the next generation of young fighters ?
That whatever u give to boxing u will get back so if u give 100 percent u will always be a champion.

 
What do you think you would be doing today if you had never set foot in a gym and become a Boxer ?
I have always told myself I would become a professional athlete so if boxing wasn’t here I would of continued to work hard till I found it.

 
What gets you mentally prepared to step in the ring ?
My home town, my brother, team, and family.

 
Do you have any prefight rituals that help you get ready for your fights ?
I wear the same underwear every fight.
Where do you see Boxing 5 years down the road ?
Boxing will always continue being the hardest sport and the most sought after cause anyone can do it, its just up to the individual so any time or anywhere a fight is on people will come out and tune in till the end.

 
Who is your favorite fighter ?
Henry Armstrong.

 

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
My team Seldin which consist of my Brother Dr. Joseph Seldin, head trainer Pete Brodsky, Manager Brian Busto, co-head trainer Scott lopeck, trainer Steve Damiani, trainer Joe Gadigian, my girlfriend Sargent Brittany Boyd, and the great people of Long Island.

wp-1476329191495.jpg

