October 16th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Alibeth Milliron
Nickname – Overtime
Weight – 115-125 pounds
Record – 5 wins 3 losses
Team – Ludus Martial Arts
Where are you from ?
Petoskey, MI.

How long have you been training ?
On and off 6 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I did Taekwondo as a kid and was always frustrated in sparring because I felt the style limited me too much. My Taekwondo coach suggested that I might like MMA better and from my first fight onwards I was hooked.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Overtime. My Coaches and teammates started jokingly calling me that during training because I typically forget how many intervals or circuits I’m on so I just compensate by doing more to make sure I get a good workout in. I guess my training philosophy is that more is better.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
My first fight. Even though I lost by TKO I remember thinking that every sport I’d ever played paled in comparison to fighting.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
I had mixed reactions from family. I was mostly supported if not quite encouraged. I think most of them just thought it was a passing craze.

What is your current record ?
5-3.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I’m a sucker for pretty kicking techniques and any type of flying submission, armbar, triangle etc. are amazing to watch.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I honestly don’t draw inspiration from anyone. I love training and I love fighting by themselves so I don’t really feel the need to be inspired.

What team do you currently train with ?
Ludus Martial Arts out of Petoskey, MI

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Having Taekwondo as a base means I always love to stand and exchange on the feet but over the years I’ve come to love the ground aspect of MMA as well and I’ve come to the point where I feel strong no matter where a fight goes.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
For me it means discipline, dedication and motivation. Without the right kind of work ethic and self-sacrifice you can’t be a fighter.

What weight do you fight at ?
115-125 lbs

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I think most female fighters in my division nowadays don’t have the same level of experience as I’ve had fighting bigger and heavier opponents at crazy catchweights simply because it used to be the only way you could get a fight as an amateur female fighter.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I don’t have any particular fighter I would like to fight I’m just looking forward to my first pro fight hopefully in the not to distant future.

wp-1476588323169.jpg
Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Randa Markos. She is now a ranked UFC fighter and had a really strong grinding/wrestling style that I found very difficult to work against.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I don’t really flip any switches or anything I try to think through all my drilling/training and let my muscle memory just take over.

Who are you fighting next ?
Rashelle Cook.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
I honestly don’t know too much about her from what I’ve seen she likes to stand and brawl which always makes for a fun fight.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Ron Deleon Promotions in Lansing, MI for the 125 lb Championship.

Date and time of your next fight ?
October 22 @ 8:00 PM.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be one of those fighters whose technique is always evolving and improving.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My husband. I met him at my first fight and he’s always been there for me since.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I wouldn’t credit any one person as having the biggest impact. It’s definitely been a combined effort of both promotions and fighters to make MMA as mainstream as it is today.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
It’s very MMA. Even though I started my martial arts journey in Taekwondo I think my style as evolved to be a more blended mix of various martial arts including boxing, Muay Thai, and BJJ.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
The idea of people I’ve fought actually making it to big promotions is a huge motivator.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Something that people might not know about me is that I have a BS in Psychology and am starting graduate school for Psychology in the spring.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Mostly what I do now except for the time I spend each day training.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready mentally to step in the cage ?
No, no rituals I just relax and warm up and try to be supportive of my teammates if they’re fighting on the same card as me.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
No specific thoughts. Just that adrenaline. I always get very happy at the mere thought of fighting so when it’s actually time to get in the cage I’m on cloud nine.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Georges St. Pierre.

wp-1476588302937.jpg

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Any free time I have is typically spent with my husband and out kids kayaking, pontooning and hiking we’re usually pretty active.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I feel that just sticking with this sport through the ups and downs of training, family and the craziness of life is so far my biggest accomplishment!
What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I feel like women have already overcome huge obstacles in this sport I just think now it’s a matter of catching up to the men as far as training and talent in the divisions.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Find coaches and team that support you in the sport. I think the number one reason more women aren’t in this sport is because they are not encouraged or supported enough in the gym.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Hopefully much bigger with more women in all the weight classes.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I’m dreaming big but I’m hoping to get in with top promotions and once I go pro to get in with Invicta and eventually the UFC.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To go pro and lock down some fights against top ranked fighters.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
The coach who first introduced me to MMA Jamie Stelmaszek, my current coaches Tom Capaldi, Joe & Jordan Haggerty, Mike Patrick and Terry Shaner. My husband, Steve Milliron for always being there for my fights and my sister, Tori for being the best babysitter. My Mom for supporting my passion for martial arts way back when I was a kid.

wp-1476588281923.jpg

