marina4

October 18th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Marina Szabó
Nickname – Rampage
Weight – 55kg (121 pounds)
Record – 0 wins 0 losses
Team – American Top Team
Where are you from ?
I was born in Croatia, as well as my parents but part of my family is from Hungary and I see myself as Hungarian.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training since High school. First I started with fitness then fighting even though when I was little ‘ I was boxing. Then we didn’t have small punching bags so I made one by myself. I put teddy bears in trash bags and two boards on the sides hung it on the door frame then punched it till my hands hurt so much but I loved it. Since than I knew I was gonna fight someday.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I always loved fighting, first boxing, then kickboxing but I always felt like I was missing something, something like MMA. Everything mixed together so I started with that.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Well my real nickname is “Biljka” which In Croatian means “Plant” because I was calm and didn’t give a damn about anything in life, then I got a bad injury and started getting really nervous and mad so I gave myself the nickname “Rampage”.
What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
The moment when I saw that life is tough and you gotta fight for everything, not literally but you gotta fight and fighting makes you stronger and a more respectful person.
Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Well my dad supports me in everything as well as my best friend, mom was worried like every mom and though that was crazy, now she’s just used to it.She knows I’m different, I’m not girly and she accepted.

What is your current record ?
I didn’t get a chance to have a professional fight because of my injury so I don’t have a record. I have problems with my lower back and sacroiliac joints.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Armbar definitely on the ground, uppercut standing up.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration in life is my hungarian grandmother who I’ve never met because she died before I was born. But she was a big fighter in life. Raised my father and uncle on her own, doing tough jobs and did everything right. I know she believes in me and watches me over from haven. Szeretlek nagymama.

What team do you currently train with ?
I’m currently have not trained for almost a year and a half due to injury but when I get better I’m planning on training at American Top Team.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Depends. If I’m fighting with some BJJ expert I’m gonna try to make sure that she doesn’t put me on the ground, if I’m fighting a kickboxer I’m gonna try put her on the ground. You gotta be smart, everything is about technique.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means nothing special to me. I see myself as every other person out there. We are not better or worse than others. We may be stronger in mind and have more respect because that’s what fighting really teaches you.

What weight do you fight at ?
Flyweight class (55kg+)

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My aggression and calmness at the same time.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Cyborg. She would beat my ass in a second, but as Mirko Cro Cop said: “It’s better to lose from a legend”.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight is fighting with my mind.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
That I don’t want to disappoint people who support me and I don’t want to dissapoint myself.

Who are you fighting next ?
Nobody knows because I don’t even know when will I fight again.

what holes or weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponents ?
If you want to be a better fighter you’re not supposed to see others holes and weaknesses but yours and make them better.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
At the moment none.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
As a fighter who not only fight with her body but with my heart and soul.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Definitely myself. Nobody can push you to your limits but your mind. Trainers can push you, but if your mind is blocked you’re not gonna get better. If you want something so bad you can get it.

marina1

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Again, myself. There’s not many people who trust in me so I gotta trust in myself.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Like dancing in the rain. If you’re smart you’ll get it.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Haters who want to see me fail.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m always true, true to people true to myself so I don’t think that people have something that they don’t know about me.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Well I will be and I would be in security.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Hanging out with my nephew, teaching him some fighting techniques and working out with my dog, things that make me calm, and I also do some meditation.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
My grandma watching me and telling me that I can do it, I will win. I’ll be a winner.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Mirko Cro Cop Filipovic of course. A legend. Calm guy, always talking true, no trash talking. Positive, family guy and also big animal lover like I am.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Spend time with my family, teach my nephew boxing, and enjoy life.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment is the way that I started to look at life and finally live the life-like I want to not like somebody else wants to.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
The biggest challenge is to get into fighting organisations and have professional fights because there are not many women in this sport and they consider it as a man’s sport.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Like Tupac said: “be to yourself, stay to yourself and trust nobody”
Live the life you want to be, fight for what you are, don’t let anybody stand in your way.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I see some only women’s MMA organisations. That would be awesome.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I see myself training at American Top Team and having professional fights. Not yet being a champ in some organisation but heading for that too.

What are your goals within the sport ?
Being a champ in my division.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Thank you to my best friend Antonela who always trusts in me and thanks to so many people on social media who support me.

marina3

