October 21st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Ashley LéTournéau
Record – 15-10-2 kickboxing
25-10-1 wrestling
3-0 mma
Weight – 105-115 pounds
Team – Diamond MMA

Where are you from ?
Kingston Ontario.

How long have you been training ?
10 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Like I said above I’ve been training for 10 years in kickboxing, wrestling, boxing, Thai, and Jujitsu. In the last year I have been merging everything together. MMA has always been my ending goal.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I don’t have one yet.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ? When I was on the Canadian kickboxing team siting in the Serbian airport on our way home, I made that decision. I was told by many of the coaches that we shouldn’t focus on fighting as a career because there was no money in it. I may be broke but I’m the happiest I’ve ever been! I learned over the years and now know that 80% of this job is marketing and selling yourself as an athlete. The other 20% is the fighting. (Don’t get me wrong! The better the fighter the easier the marketing!)

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Not at all. They didn’t want me too, thought I was crazy, and told me I would never make any money at it.

What is your current record ?
15-10-2 kickboxing, 25-10-1 wrestling, 3-0 mma (hold 2 mma titles).

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
All strikes!. 👊🏼😍

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Valerie LeTourneau – She has a good work (MMA)- life – family balance! Been looking up to her for a while now!

What team do you currently train with ?
Diamond MMA 💎. Out of Napanee Ontario Canada.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Depends on the fighter I’m fighting and how the fight is going.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Crazy hard questions! I would have to say, it means to never give up and keep moving forward in the fight and in life.

What weight do you fight at ?
105 -115lbs.

ashley5

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
So far I think my striking abilities and the fact that I keep myself well rounded in all disciplines separates me.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Right now it would be Joanna Jędrzejczyk! I Want that belt!

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Jolene Dennis for the can-am title.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Very positive and calm. I love this sport!

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Being a great fighter that helped women grow in this sport.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Again Valerie LeTourneau, and my team at Diamond MMA they have always believed in me.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Wmma: definitely Ronda! She was the perfect marketing tool that the UFC need to bring awareness to wmma.
Canada: I would say GSP. He became QC’s new Maurice Richard and really grew the popularity of the sport in Canada.
Over all: Royce Gracie, he showed the sport could not survive on brute force and striking.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Striker. 👊🏼🏆💪🏽

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would me a mechanic! 🔩🔧🚗

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready mentally to step in the cage ?
Not really I tend to try to stay calm.

ashley2

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
The lyrics to my song “run this” by Rob Bailey. I sing them in my head because 90% of the time they will mess it up and play the wrong one.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I can’t pick just one! Here is my top 5!
1) GSP
2) Valerie LeTourneau
3) Mark Hominic
4) cyborg
5) Paige Vanzant

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I’m normally outside enjoying nature Or in a shop building something.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I’m very proud of being a member of the Canadian kickboxing team at 18 years old and proud of my CAN-AM 115lbs wmma title. But I’m most proud of my 105lbs legends fight league (LFL) wmma title! It was my second belt I won and it means the most to me and I think it will always be my favourite!

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
There’s not enough coverage for us or as many divisions for us to compete in! Therefore we are forced to make weight in a division that we don’t naturally belong in if we want our opportunity at a PRO contract! For me I have to fight PRO in Canada at 115lbs because a 105lb division does not exist.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Be fearless! Meaning it’s OK to be sacred and nervous but Keep trying! Keep moving forward! And keep fighting!

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I hope to see women’s mma as popular as men’s mma! 💪🏽🏆👊🏼

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
UFC. And there better be a 105lbs division!!

What are your goals within the sport ?
I personally want to be the best in the 105lb weight class! I’ll settle for the 115lb but will never stop fighting for more weight classes and equal opportunity for women in this sport.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Yes! Thank you to my team and adopted family at Diamond Fitness! 😘

ashley3

