October 24th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Erika Novarria
Nickname – Roccia
Team – Montenero Boxing Club

Where are you from ?
I was born and raised in Milan Italy.

How long have you been training ?
As a child I always played sports.

How did you come to Boxing
I started at the age of 15.

Tell us about how you got your nickname ?
Roccia is a nickname that e my friends gave me after the incident in 2009, for my strength.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
When the champion Andrea Sarritzu said you will fight, and you have to believe you can do it.

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Boxing ?
It is all for me,they love to see me happy.

What is your current record ?
3 shows, two in Milan and one in Rugby (London).

What is your favorite strike or combination to use in a fight ?
Uppercut to the body.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Ali and Rocky.

What team do you train with ?
I started with O.P.I. Gym but currently train with Montenero Boxing Club

Are you more of an offensive boxer or do you prefer a defensive style ?
I like to fight.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Its one way to stay fit, to release tension, to meet people, a natural medicine for life.

you are an adaptive athlete can you explain for those who do not know what that means ?
I think I’m an example that despite the difficulties and what can happen in life, we must not give up, because if you believe you can do it all.

What does it mean to you to be able to compete and live your dream.
It means happiness.

What are your thoughts on the Adaptive Boxing Organization and the work they are doing for adaptive athletes.
It is a great opportunity to show the world what we can do despite the disability.

What has been your toughest fight so far in your career ?
The first because it was a great thrill.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
May the best win.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For energy and willpower.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Never give up.

What was your biggest achievement so far in the sport ?
Being able to be the first female adaptive boxer in the world.

erika7

Who do you feel has had the greatest impact on sport and why ?
Andrea Sarritzu.

How would you describe your style of fighting ?
Says a close friend, as a “tractor”.

What drives or motivates you to get in the ring and compete ?
Myself and whoever believes in me.

Which it is something people might not know about you ?
#senzabarriereboxing.

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your spare time ?
Being with friends and family and trying new experiences.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
To believe and to continue to train while having fun is key.

What do you think you would do if you were not a fighter ?
That the beginning of a fight for women would be done not out of fear.

What gets you mentally ready for a fight you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the ring ?
listening to music.

Where do you see the sport of Boxing in 5 years ?
I hope better than today and with many other disabled people in the race.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Still in the ring.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I havent one in particular.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out?
My whole family, my Mister and my best friends

To follow Erika and keep up with all her late breaking news click the link below and go show your support on her fan page
https://www.facebook.com/ErikaNovarriaAmputeeWomanBoxeur/

erika6

