October 27th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Alexander Yankov
Weight – 145-155 pounds
Record – 5 wins 2 losses
Team – Compound Martial Arts / Team Ryano

 
Where are you from ?
Sofia, Bulgaria.

How long have you been training ?
4 years.

How did you get into MMA ?
A few classmates showed me videos of MMA fights and I got interested. I was always skinny and never picked on regularly, but whenever I got picked on I felt vulnerable and I didn’t like that feeling.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew MMA was what you wanted to pursue ?
I always go all in the things I do . From the very beginning of my training I felt like I wanted to do it for a living.

When you decided to pursue a career in MMA what was the reaction of family and friends where they supportive of your decision ?
They where and they were not. My parents were worried but after I explained to them how serious I am about training and they saw the results of my fights they became more believing and supportive.Friends were always there for me and find it very cool I do it.

What is your current record ?
My current record is 5 wins and 2 lessons 😀 (losses)

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
Favorite strike is a straight cross that cracks the chin . Favorite submission is the most dominant one the rear naked choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I am my biggest inspiration.

What team do you train with ?
I train out of Compound Martial Arts under head coach Oisin McCabe. Our club is in association with Team Ryano so I do some sessions out there as well with world-class training partners.

Where and how do you look to dictate the pace of a fight do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I am working towards being a well-rounded fighter. I am confident and comfortable fighting from anywhere and in any position. I want to go down in the history as Mr perfect!

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means the world to me. It means my pride , my hard work in the gym that pays off in the cage. It has taught me a lot such as discipline, courage and focus . It has made me a better man and I am thankful for the life I have and for the life I’m striving to have in the near future.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at Featherweight and Lightweight. (145-155 pounds)

What sets you apart and separates you from other fighters ?
My work ethic. I do everything with an all in mindset. I work hard on finding what is the best thing to do for my body nutrition wise and stick to it. My coach has the Katie Sharp eye for detail and gives me an edge with great game plans. The way I approach fights and the fact that I can’t think about anything else , but fighting. Even when I don’t train i am visualizing techniques and they flow once I do them in training. My strive for perfection and to always improve.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Anderson ‘The Spider’ Silva in his prime.

Who has been your toughest opponent or fight to date ?
Toughest fight has been myself when I haven’t been in the right mindset. Anytime I have though about something else and approached training with different mind-set to the one I am in now I have lost or haven’t won the way I wanted to.

alexander2

What is your mindset on fight night ?
My mind-set is just focused on the mission and visualizing the shots or positions I will create. I am big into manifesting my precise thoughts into reality and its working well for me.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Ciaran Clarke who represented Ireland in the IMMAF in Vegas this year.

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to exploit in your opponents game plan when you step in the cage with him ?
I believe I will be the superior fighter coming into this fight and I can take the fight in any position because I have the edge over my opponent,

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Cage Legacy.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Friday the 28th of October.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as a good role model outside and inside the cage. Also to be remembered for being technical and precise. I want to be the greatest of all time!

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Favorite quote: victory is reserved for those willing to pay its price.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in MMA so far ?
All my fights wins or losses. I am proud of all of them equally because they are the reason I am who I am today.

Who has had the biggest influence on you and your career ?
I must say my coach, Oisin McCabe. He has taught me a lot on how to approach fighting and the mind-set needed to win. Also my crisp technique comes from hours of drilling under his supervision.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport of Mixed Martial Arts and why ?
I believe Royce Gracie at UFC 1. He showed the world that BJJ technique beats any other style or size. Since then everyone has learned that if you don’t have BJJ or understand it you can’t be a successful MMA fighter.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Unpredictable and dangerous from any position.

What drives and motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Everything drives me and motivates me . I take motivation from anything small or big. I learned to appreciate all the things people do and that keeps me striving to be better in and outside the cage.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Many things but tune in the near future and you will know way more.

When you are not training or getting ready for a fight what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
I study leisure management, a course that gives me a lot of knowledge about the human body and its movement. I am very interested in nutrition and spend a lot of time reading about it and preparing my meals. At any other given time I would have my headphones on and be visualizing techniques in my head.

alexander4

What advice can you give to your fighters and those looking to break into the sport ?
To believe in themselves. That hard work pays off. To face their fears and grab life’s opportunity’s with both hands , because there is nothing worse than being stuck doing something you don’t like.

What do you think you would be doing if you had never become a fighter ?
I don’t know. Haven’t though about and I don’t really want to.

What gets you mentally prepared to step in the cage ?
Visualizing the shots I will land. Understanding what I’m about to do and accepting it. Believing in my techniques and my camp.

Do you have any rituals that get you in the right mindset to step in the cage and fight ?
No rituals.

Where do you see MMA as a sport in 5 years ?
I see it as the most famous sport in the world.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself as a star of the best organisation in MMA and being a big draw.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better ?
I believe some of the rules, such as 12 to 6 elbow should be allowed and no gloves. I believe no gloves will force everyone to be tighter with their technique and will actually be less risky since people have to be careful with their power since they can break their hand.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is GSP.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank Oisin McCabe for being a phenomenal coach. All my training partners that are ever improving. And last but not least Andy Ryan.

alexander5

