October 31st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Kate Da Silva
Nickname – Jiu-Jitseria
Record – 10 wins 4 losses
Weight – 56.7kg (125 pounds)
Team – Gracie Gym / HT Fitness

 

Where are you from ?
New Zealand.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training BJJ for 11 years and MMA for 6 years however I had a two-year break from MMA due to Injury and birthing my youngest child.

How did you get in to MMA ?
A Female MMA promoter and friend Belinda Dunne asked if I was keen to do a B Class (amateur) MMA Fight with her so I thought ok then, I had only done BJJ at that point but was finding it really hard to find opponents, most comps I went to there would only be 1 or 2 females competing. I seriously never ever thought I’d be doing MMA I’m a very placid person don’t like violence at all, I have had to really find my aggression over the years but absolutely Love the Challenge MMA gives me, I started MMA to show the World how good my BJJ is, I love challenging my martial art.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
In Brazil they call females who o Jiu-Jitsu Jiu-Jitseira and my Master/Husband Roney would always call me this on the mats, so when I started MMA I thought that was the prefect Fight name for me, I am super proud of my Martial Art.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I would say it would have been when I fought Angie Parr, Wife of Multiple World Champion John Wayne Parr, I won in the 1st round via arm bar, the feeling of making someone give up a fight by submitting them is the best feeling in the world, I love to show the superiority of my martial art BJJ specially against a Muay Thai Champion. This gave me the motivation and confidence that my skill can beat any one.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
I wouldn’t say they weren’t supportive but my Dad did ask why I don’t just do that Jiu-jitsu stuff so you don’t get hit in the head lol He didn’t like seeing me with black eyes etc, But my family Support me when I fight always giving me kind messages of support, but they have never actually seen me fight live, I haven’t ever questioned why because I know it’s probably because they find it hard to watch there loved one get hit šŸ˜Š

What is your current record ?
My current Pro MMA record is 10-4

kate6

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favourite submission would be the Mata Leao (rear naked choke) It’s the best feeling have the full control of someone else’s body, my close friends would probably say Arm lock is my favourite as I have won a lot using them in BJJ. But for MMA def Mata Leao.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I would say Rickson Gracie who is my Husbands Idol and also Leticia Ribeiro a multiple time BJJ World Champion, I love how she moves so gracefully she is amazing and she has the Best and Biggest Female BJJ Team in the World, a No of her students are World Champions.

What team do you currently train with ?
Gracie Gym Rotorua/HT Fitness.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Definitely to the ground but I am really enjoying standing with my opponents now.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
I would say that it means showing my kids what dedication and determination are and that you can do ANYTHING you put your mind too.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 56.7kgs Flyweight division, I have fought my last 4 fights at that weight my previous fights were at 61kgs Bantamweight and 65kgs Featherweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
The experience I have with BJJ there are not many female black belts around.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I would Love to have a fight against the No 1 Flyweight Fighter at the moment who is Jennifer Maia!

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My fight against Jessy Jess, she was so strong after this fight I made the cut down to Flyweight, the difference in size and weight was a huge difference for me in that fight.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I just go in there believing in my skill and ability to Win.

Who are you fighting next ?
I was meant to fight Charlene Watt in Brace and again against Charlene for the FC Flyweight title in November but have had to pull out due to injury, so don’t have any fights confirmed until I am recovered šŸ˜Š

what do you think you can improve on to become a better fighter ?
I have come along way with my overall MMA game, my stand up skills and confidence have increased a lot but I still need more experience.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I don’t have a particular promotion I am fighting for at the moment.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I made a Huge impact in BJJ and MMA in NZ as I feel I did, I was one of the most active Fighters when I first started MMA and I was the first female to fight and Win MMA in a Cage in NZ and that I inspired a lot of NZ females. All the MMA fights before my Cage fight was in a Ring so I want to be remembered in being the first Female to fight and Win MMA in a Cage in my country. Most of all I want to be remembered as the female who influenced more females to start BJJ and MMA.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My husband Roney he believes in me so much even when I don’t sometimes!

kate4

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I would say Ronda Rousey she has completely changed the way people view female fighters, Dana White from UFC said he would never have females fight in UFC and now look!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I am an all round Fighter now but am known to be a Ground Fighter.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
I would say what drives me is the ability to do anything I put my mind into, My mother always told me this growing up which has stuck in my head ever since! I was a teenage mother at age 17 and this really motivates me to believe I can do anything!!

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I am not sure and honestly I can’t even see myself without BJJ, I was not in a good place mentally or physically before I started BJJ and it has absolutely has changed me as a person, I was a very unconfident woman before I met my husband and started his classes. Who knows I may not even be alive if I hadn’t found BJJ.

What gets you mentally ready for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
No rituals or anything, I just like to concentrate and get my head in the game, I used to watch fights before I fought but the last two fights I have been relaxing in the changing room mentally preparing myself for the fight.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Most of the time I think OMG what am I doing again lol but I just mentally prepare myself and just go over in my head all the hard work and sacrifice away from my kids is for this moment now and that I better make it worth it and WIN šŸ™‚

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Cris Cyborg, even though I am completely against Enhancing drugs I think what she is doing with WMMA is fantastic for the sport I have been following her for a long time before she became really famous, I met her at the World BJJ Champs in LA when I was a Purple belt šŸ™‚

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I love just spending time with my husband and children, going to the Hot pools, listening to music and baking with my kids.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Fighting in my husband’s home country Brazil where BJJ and MMA came from!

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I would say people thinking that we can’t do it because we are female.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
I would say to the young female fighters to BELIEVE in yourself and to not give up, honestly you are going to go through hard times but that will only make you stronger!!

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5 years ?
I see it getting bigger and bigger and UFC to open all Female weight divisions

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I see myself still fighting MMA I said to myself that I keep at it until I am 40 years old but I would really love to compete as a Black Belt in BJJ and to become a BJJ Black Belt World Champion!! I want to compete in BJJ more.

What are your goals within the sport ?
My Goal is to become a World Champion in MMA and BJJ!! Ultimately fighting in UFC!

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
A Massive Thank you to my Husband who has supported me and believed in me through my whole career, I wouldn’t have been able to do it without him!!
A Huge thank you to my Sponsors, our best friend and sponsor Ray from RM builders MMA Addict and Braus Fight!!
Also to my Kids for understanding the time I need to put into my training fro my fights!
And a huge thank you to the MMA and BJJ NZ Community for always following my journey šŸ˜Š

kate1

