killian2

November 4th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Killian Estes
Nickname – The Infamous
Weight Class – Middleweight
Record – 6 wins 0 losses
Team – American Kickboxing Academy / Citadel Fight Team

 

Where are you from ?
Coeur d’Alene Idaho boy born and raised.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve wrestled and boxed for 16 years, 10 years of MMA.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was born into it, my dad was a fighter at 19 years old. He took me to the gym all the time when he was training.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I got my nickname from my dad. “The Infamous” came about because I was always in trouble when I was younger.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I watched my dad growing up and always wanted to be like him and I told myself I’d try it one day and ever since that first fight and my hand was raised I’ve had the dream of being a UFC Champion.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family and friends from the beginning knew I’d be something great, I’ve always had a passion for wrestling and fighting and everyone close to me has watched me grow into the dedicated fighter I am.

What is your current record ?
My current record is 6-0.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
A 2, 3 body head combo.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I don’t think I can single out any one person for inspiration. I’ve always had so many people in my corner. My father has always been my biggest supporter so if I was to say any one person is my inspiration it would be him.

What team do you train with ?
I train with American Kickboxing Academy and Citadel Fight Team.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I love a good fist fight but I’ve always been a wrestler so I feel more comfortable on the ground.

killian5

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Not only is it my dream to be a UFC Champion one day but as I’ve stuck to the grind these last few years I’ve realized many people look up to me and want to be like me so I want to inspire more people and young teens to find something they love and stick to it.

What weight do you fight at ?
I’m a Middleweight 2 belt holder.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’ve always been a fighter, my whole life has been a “rise and grind” type of life. I would say I’m the “Conor Mcgregor of the North West fight scene.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I’d want to fight me because I’m the only one that can beat me.

Who has been your toughest fight and opponent to date ?
I’d say my three round stand up battle vs Kevin Lee Johns.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
It’s not something you can really explain. I put all of the good and all of the bad in my life into one emotion.

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting a rival named Jack “morning” Woods, a bit of bad blood and “shit talk” between the two of us. It’s a fight people aren’t going to want to miss.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit when you step in the cage ?
Personally to many to explain, he simply isn’t on my level. He has one move and it’s an arm bar but I don’t plan on letting him even touch me so he’s in for a real surprise.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I will be fighting for Joel Thomas’s Proving Grounds Promotion.

Date and time of your next fight ?
December 2nd, at The Hub sports center in Liberty lake. Doors open at 6 PM fights start at 7 PM.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be more successful than Conor McGregor.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“There’s two things I like doing and that’s whoopin ass and looking good” -Conor McGregor.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Being a 6-0 fighter holding 2 title belts at 20 years old.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My father by far has pushed me passed limits I never thought I’d achieve.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Conor McGregor by far has had the biggest impact. He’s made more money for the sport than anyone ever has.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
One of a kind.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
I want to be able to say I did it, I want to have anything and everything I ever dreamed of.

What is something people might not know about you ?
My mother died when I was 15 and she’s one of the biggest reasons I’m so savage in the cage.

killian4

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I love fishing with my little brother Torrence, other than that I’m usually busting my ass in the gym.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Confidence is key, win the fight mentally before ever stepping in the cage, and never give up.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’d be wrestling in college.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I have my own little ritual.😏

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
They aren’t rituals if the whole world knows them.
Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Richer than ever because I’ll be their top fighter and business man.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Defending my UFC Championship until I retire with more cheddar🤑 than I could ever imagine.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
They are already taking the steps to make it better. Locally we could have more class and not be so shady.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Conor McGregor.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to thank my friends, fans and family for always being there for me and always having my back and believing in me and never giving up on me and following me to the top. I’d like to personally thank my father for everything he has done for me and our family and for being such an amazing father. I’d also like to thank my mother for always believing in me and I know she’s looking down on me more proud than ever. I love all of you and I thank you all for following me on this journey to victory.

To stay up to date with all the late breaking news from Killian head over to his fan page and give it a like by clicking the link below
https://www.facebook.com/TheInfamousKillianEstes/

killian3

Photo Credit –  Katie Hartwig Photography

