charles2

November 7th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Charles Wilton
Nickname – The Professor
Weight – 48Kg-50Kg (105-110 pounds)
Record – 0 wins 0 losses
Where are you from ?
Mississauga Ontario Canada.

How long have you been training ?
Two years (in boxing) (15 years) in Paralympic Athletics.

How did you get in to Adaptive Boxing ?
As a former international Paralympic athlete now retired… I was looking for a new sport to keep my high-level drive and athletic body still in shape.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My nickname is “The Professor” as I am in a wheelchair and a highly intelligent person. It’s from the X-Men comic books and movies.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?The moment when people started to tell me it was “impossible” to be a Wheelchair Boxer. Long story short… the word “impossible” isn’t in my vocabulary as a person with a disability.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Adaptive Boxing ?
My family was not in favour of the idea of me doing the sport of boxing due to my disability. The mindset of combat + disability = me getting hurt “more”.

charles7

What is your current record ?
I currently don’t have an official record my contract is in the works to be done. I will be signing my official contract with the Adaptive Boxing Organization in the United Kingdom very soon.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Ali, GSP, and Tyson.
What team do you train with ?
Currently I do not train with any team do to “financial issues” (Lack of funds due to the mindset of businesses and sponsorship’s about the idea of a wheelchair boxer in Canada)

charles4

For those that do not know can you tell us a little about Wheelchair Boxing ?
DUE to the new idea of the sport of Wheelchair Boxing… we are currently finding new ways to do the sport. It use to be just face to face, locked on each other, wheel to wheel. Then the sport got off the ground, we now wheel around the ring… like able-bodied boxers do. We use the same tactics as you would in the stand up game only sitting in wheelchairs moving around.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a “Fighter” means more to me then a “normal Fighter” due to my disability. Being a fighter is more than just a title, it’s a lifestyle, a mindset.

You are an adaptive athlete can you explain for those that do not know what that means ?
A “Adapted Athlete” means that I’m a athlete that has to overcome their “personal challenges”… on top of being an athlete.

What does being able to compete and live your dream mean to you ?
The challenges of life as a person with a disability is the reason why I do what I do. To overcome the mindset of the public… and to overcome my own “fear” of what is “possible” in not only sport… however… in life as well. As a fighter… you need to get back up when you get knocked down, in life you need to do the same thing!

charle3

What are your thoughts on the Adaptive boxing Organization and the work they are doing for adaptive athletes ?
We are doing the ground work to challenge the mindset that people who have disabilities can’t take part in combat sports due to their disabilities. We are laying down the ground work for those who want to overcome there fear and just have the freedom to do whatever they want… not only in sport but in life as well.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at Flyweight (48Kg-50Kg)

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Currently… our divisions are being worked out by our organization’s staff. However… I’ve been doing my research on the other fighters in my division… and I think my athletic career as a long-time Paralympian, over 15 years of training in a gym and being around some best professional athletes in the world helps me know what I need to do to put the work in inside the gym.

charles5

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
It would be against Ian Cannon. He is a high-profile wheelchair boxer from the United States. He and I have had some “heated conversations” over the past few years, he “dislikes” me… and I, him. (Do to agreement issues… with camps… this match up is still being worked out by our Organization)

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
The public! Due to the mindset of people that people who have disabilities shouldn’t be in combat sports.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset is… that… I am a fighter no matter what the main stream public thinks. I’ve been “fighting” for all of my life to get where I am today… I’m not going to stop now!

Who are you fighting next ?
Anybody that is willing to wheel in the boxing ring with me… in my weight class.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
Currently… I don’t know my division’s fighters all that well due to the fact that they are all over the United Kingdom and the United States.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Currently… I have a half sponsorship with a Canadian based boxing gear brand “BestSports” The company is unsure of the sport’s popularity (Wheelchair Boxing) They won’t get fully behind me yet until I officially have my first fight.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Contracts are currently being done up, it will be very soon.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
My heart, My drive, The fire within me… that I keep pushing forward no matter whats in my way.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Ali’s “I am the greatest”

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My trainer, Richard Lewis. He is the number one person in this whole thing that has supported me with everything from actually sparring in a chair against me to helping me with my disability… i.e. getting my weak arm more flexible to actually make me a better boxer. He is the cousin of the Former Heavyweight champion of the world Lenox Lewis.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Ali, a reason why, not needed.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
You take Manny Pacquiao, Roy Jones Jr., Muhammad Ali and Mike Tyson, mix them all together, that’s me… as a boxer.

What drives or motivates you ?
My 4 year old son William.

What is something people might not know about you ?
That I am a writer and a history buff.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I’m a gym rat all the way… however… I love history and learning about how things work.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
As an Adapted boxer I will tell them keep pushing forward, push pass your fear of failure. Never feel safe in the place you are… always push for the next step, the next level.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I Listen to the “South Paw” soundtrack.

Where do you see the sport of Adaptive Boxing in 5 years ?
As I’ve said, we are laying down the ground work for the sport. Much work has to be done in that time frame. We are putting in a bid for Adapted boxing to be added to the Paralympic Summer Games by 2024.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
The ABO’s Flyweight Champion of the world.

What do you think can change moving forward to make Adaptive Boxing better as a sport? What do I think would help the sport of adapted boxing push forward I would say… keep on working as one international organization… and not break up into small organizations like able-bodied boxing has done over the years of it’s history.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Ali and Mike Tyson.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My trainer Richard Lewis for giving me the opportunity to feel… and be an official boxer.

To stay up to date with all the late breaking news from Charles click the link below and go check out his fan page.
https://www.facebook.com/TheProfessorWilton/

charles6

