pam1

November 9th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Pam Sorenson
Nickname – Bam
Weight – 135 pounds
Record – 4 wins 1 loss
Team – Cellar Gym

 

Where are you from ?
Minneapolis, Minnesota.

How long have you been training ?
Since 2012, just over 4 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Back in 2012 I ended up tragically losing my best friend. Afterwards I spent a solid month or so sitting on the couch eating and feeling sorry for myself, while ballooning up to over 200 pounds. One day I finally said enough is enough and set out to find a fun, new way to work out and get back in shape. I ended up deciding to try out kickboxing and had a blast, so shortly after I took up BJJ and started competing in grappling tournaments. I loved competing in BJJ and in kickboxing, so MMA just seemed like the next logical step!

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Someone at the gym started calling me Pam Bam one day and it just kind of stuck!

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
After I competed in my first BJJ tournament, I realized how much I loved competing. It was shortly after that I decided I wanted to compete in a kickboxing tournament and take my first amateur MMA fight!

pam2

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My friends were all super supportive, as was my brother – he has been my biggest fan and supporter since day 1!! My parents were unsure when I first started fighting, so they supported me as long as I didn’t get hurt and they didn’t have to watch!

What is your current record ?
4-1.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
The arm bar is definitely my favorite submission.

What team do you train with ?
I train out of The Cellar Gym in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
It varies from fight to fight. I am a pretty well-rounded fighter so I like to take the fight to where my opponent is least comfortable.

wp-1478656287997.jpg

What weight do you fight at ?
I currently fight at 135 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters ?
I think what separates me from other fighters is my desire to be great in all areas. I don’t want to just have good striking for an MMA fighter, I want to have good striking. And the same with the ground game.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Whoever has the belt in the promotion I’m fighting for. I’m setting out to be the best and to do that you have to beat the best. So right now my dream fight is to fight the Invicta Bantamweight Champion – currently Tonya Evinger

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
They’re all tough in their own way. I’d say my first fight coming off a loss as an amateur and after having corrective eye surgery was the toughest mentally. I wasn’t entirely sure I wanted to continue fighting, but after that fight I knew it was where I belonged!

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I just try my best to stay calm and focus on everything my coaches and I had worked on leading up to the fight.

wp-1478656282246.jpg

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Jessica Rose Clark (Jessy Jess) next.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit when you step in the cage ?
I’d say she’s also a pretty well-rounded fighter, however I think I will have a slight size/strength advantage.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Invicta FC.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Friday, November 18. Fights start at 7 pm at the Scottish Rite Temple in Kansas City, Missouri. It will also be streamed live on UFC Fight Pass.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for never taking the easy way out. I don’t look for the easy fights, I want to fight tough opponents and test myself.

wp-1478656268098.jpg

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Without a doubt Ronda Rousey has had the biggest impact recently for women’s MMA. Love her or hate her, the sport (for women) would not be where it’s at today had it not been for her.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I’d say I’m a very patient fighter. I’ll wait for openings and the right time to throw or try certain things.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My desire to be the best. I work my butt off day in and day out to be just a little bit better every day. If I discover a hole in my game (and lord knows there will ALWAYS be one), I’ll work on it until it’s perfect.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’d probably still be working as a manager at a drug store.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you mentally ready to step in the cage ?
Not really, I just need to enter the cage with a clear mind. I usually just pace back and forth and collect my thoughts before walking out.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I really love Joanne Calderwood. I just love how soft-spoken she is, and then is vicious in the cage.

When you’re not training what do you enjoy doing with your free time ?
I love spending time with my dogs, taking them to the park or on walks and even dressing them up!

pam3

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment so far has been winning the KOTC interim women’s 135-pound title. I was really hesitant to go pro, always doubting that I was ready, so winning that really proved to myself that I was where I belonged!

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I think one of the biggest challenges is gaining the respect we deserve, whether that be from coaches, training partners, promoters, fans – you name it. We work just as hard, if not harder than the men and have more obstacles to overcome and that’s not always recognized.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Stay with it!! It can be discouraging first getting into it, where most of us only have male training partners who are usually bigger and stronger. I’d say just realize that it will be challenging, but in the end it will make you a better fighter and stronger person!

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I’m predicting that women’s MMA will continue to grow, so hopefully there will be more opportunities out there for women. I’m hoping to see the UFC add another division or 2 for the women, along with some of the other top promotions.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I’d be happy if I was still with Invicta FC in 5 years, hopefully ranked among the top of my weight class!

What are your goals within the sport ?
I’d like to compete for as long as I possibly can, at as high of a level as I can. So right now my goal is to remain as active as I can be and win!!

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
All my coaches and training partners at The Cellar Gym, especially my head coach Chris Cichon and conditioning coach Ben Locken. And of course all my sponsors; DragonDo Fight Gear, Musky Frenzy Lures, Bourbon and Bows Salon, Minneapolis Motorsports, Sicchic.

wp-1478656278381.jpg

