nigel2

November 10th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Nigel Collins
Nickname – Bronco
Weight – 84kg (185 pounds)
Record – 5 wins 1 decision 0 losses 1 TKO
Team – Unorthodox Training Gym

 

Where are you from ?
Born in London now living in Barkingside Essex.

How long have you been training ?
Been training a year and a half now.

How did you get in to Boxing ?
Old football injuries mean I can’t do anything with my legs anymore bad knees so I am just a stand up fighter now, tried kickboxing but kept rolling my ankle.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I was given the name of “Bronco” by my first coach after my first few sparring sessions I resembled a untameable horse. I was given instructions and as soon as I heard the bell I forgot what I had been told and went to war. Head down and walk forward took a lot of punishment early on but never took a backwards step exciting to watch but my nose has been moved around my face quite a bit now but still I walk my opponents down just don’t get hit as much now which is always a bonus.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
Growing up I played football I was hard but fair didn’t care if I got kicked because I always knew I would get one chance to settle the score, people around me said back then I should maybe take up boxing etc at times I wish I had listened now I get such a buzz from being in the ring sparring or fight nights. The buzz started for me when a friend had he’s first fight and I went to watch I just knew I could see me in they’re doing the same 1 month later I was training for my first fight.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Boxing?
My mum thinks I am crazy, my dad just comes along I think so he knows what hospital I have been taken too if it all goes wrong, my brother is supportive and my two daughters love daddy fighting to which they practice on their grandad who I don’t think appreciates it all that much!

nigel3

What is your current record ?
W-5 D-1 L-0 (1TKO)

Would you call yourself an offensive Boxer or do you play to a more defensive strategy ?
I am relentless from the first bell till the last I head hunt never giving the opponent time to breath. My aim is fight of the night when ever I step in! So long as I hear people calling my fight a war I know I have given them value for money and something to remember!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My two girls are my inspiration, the look they give me when I come back from a fight “did you win, course you won you always win!” I don’t want to ever tell them I lost but I don’t take easy fights as a late starter I want to find my level and go beyond it!

What team do you train with ?
Unorthodox Training Gym in Dagenham, good stable improving all the time.

Talk us through your mindset in the ring how do you dictate the pace and control the fight ?
Like I say I’m a head hunter I will stand and trade whether you are the 13.5 stone I am or the 18 stone heavyweights I get in with. I love it the bigger they are because I know if I can take what they are throwing then someone the same weight won’t trouble me.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter is all about personal achievements and goals, I have always been determined and have decent stamina. It’s about pushing beyond what you believe your capable of.

What weight do you fight at ?
84kg light heavyweight

nigel4

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Some might say I’m not the full ticket, I laugh and smile when I get hit. What separates me is my belief and the size of my heart!

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Conor McGregor because when you fight him it pay-day plus I have been told many times I look like him also he’s Irish like my heritage and generally on top of the game!

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My last one in Cyprus which broke my 100% winning record didn’t know much about him as a fighter and got caught up in the moment forgot a lot of my training and just went for a war! He came for the same. I was happy though got spoken about as fight of the night!

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I’m generally quite a laid back person in day-to-day much like I am before a fight just trust in my coaches and believe in my self that I have done enough to beat whoever is in the ring with me.

Who are you fighting next ?
Still waiting for my opponent to be confirmed for December 17th should be another war.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
If I fight the person I want there isn’t a lot of weaknesses. I just have to be on top of my game or I will get beat it’s that simple he has good movement good striking good all around ability all the ingredients for a great fight!

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Fighting for Touch Glove Promotion associated with CCB.

nigel5

Date and time of your next fight ?
December 17th normally come out about 22:00 GMT.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Undefeated warrior. Never avoided a hard fight

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Train hard fight easy!!!

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Losing three stone to get to my fighting weight. Another reason why I started I had become a bit of a fatty!!!

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My promoter and true friend Nina Cranstoun always there with support and advice and happy to tell me when I have been a dick or not training hard enough good person to have in your corner.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
All about Conor McGregor at the moment he didn’t come to take part he came to take over, always delivers like the postman!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Forward only way I can describe myself sometimes to forward end up crowding my own work but it’s what people want to watch rather than a chess match avoiding each other.

What drives or motivates you to step in the ring and compete ?
My drive and motivation is to always improve with every fight stay unbeaten and make my girls proud.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I am a very good dancer in all seriousness I’m quite an open book I like to watch Disney films more than my kids I’m more excited at new releases by Pixar! I’m just a big kid I suppose!

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Relaxing having a drink in a nice pub eating at a decent Restaurant any of course watching Disney films and going to play centers with my girls and just goofing around.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Best advice is get in the gym never be shy to get in with the big ugly ones that is where your schooling is get beat up in the gym learning not in the ring fighting.

nigel8

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Still fat moaning that I was fat complaining about clothes not fitting me properly looking at the mirror at a fat person pretty much along those lines.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Music and thoughts of my girls I wear their names on my shorts and wear their hair bands on my wrists when I go in to fight so I take them in with me.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the ring ?
Not really any rituals just go over the game plan.

Where do you see the sport of Boxing in 5 years ?
It’s massive now and will keep growing gyms are popping up all over the place and the interest is still there not fading.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Hopefully still fighting that would make me 42 so I have visions of fighting up until 45 so a clean record up until then would be nice and some achievement.

What do you think can change moving forward to make Boxing better as a sport ?
More people like Conor every sport needs characters he has brought it to the mainstream with the way he is and he’s confidence

Who is your favorite fighter ?
If you haven’t guessed already its Conor McGregor love his confidence.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank everyone along the way from the trainers to all the fighters I have trained with sparred with and met along the way. For the ones that have knocked the wind out of me broke my nose on more than one occasion and given me ringing in my ears a special thanks goes to those because that is what readies me more for the fight than anything. Finally Nina the promoter who has all the answers and is also not shy in coming forward a massive thank you for guiding my journey so far and long in to the future. Also a special thanks to Charlie Clark for this opportunity to let people into my head.

nigel7

