dervla1

November 11th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Dervla Duffy
Nickname – Dee
Record – 58 wins 8 losses 2 KO’s
Weight – 54-57kg (119-125 pounds)
Team – Irish National Senior Elite Women’s Boxing Team

 

Where are you from ?

I’m from a small village in County Monaghan in Ireland called Doohamlet.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training 7 years in Boxing. I got into it when a gym eventually opened up in my local area.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I have a few nicknames but the main one being Dee as people struggle to remember my name especially non Irish..lol.

What was your defining moment when you knew that you wanted to pursue a career in Boxing ?
The first day I trained the coach took me on the pads and I was instantly in love with it especially the fact it’s such an individual sport as I have a background in many team sports.

When you made the decision to pursue a career in Boxing what was the reaction of family and friends where they supportive of your decesion ?
Yes they were even more supportive than I’d have imagined especially my family they love how I can push my body to the level of discomfort and pain but still love the sport and get so much back from it and motivate others along the way.

What is your current record ?
I’m still Boxing amateur but right now I have 58 wins 8 loses and 2 KO’s.

dervla7

What is your favorite strike or combination to utilize in a fight ?
It would be a looping right hand over the top.(powerful punch when connected )

Who would you credit with being your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration would be my parents and my late grandmother. They work so so hard and I think I get my competitive drive from them.

What team do you train with ?
Right now I train with the Irish National Senior Elite Women’s Boxing Team.

Do you consider yourself an offensive Boxer or do you use more of a defensive style ?
I can do both but mostly offensive is the style I prefer and that suits me.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It definitely means my sanity. It also gives younger kids something to aspire towards..if I can do it then why can’t they once they put the work in.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 54kg Sometimes 57kg ..between both.

What separates and sets you apart from other fighters ?
My aggression and my competitive drive. I hate to lose and put all my life on hold for Boxing many people give in too easy.

dervla2

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
One dream fight would be against Heather Hardy in Madison Square Garden.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Toughest fight …most of my sparring partners are pretty rough and tough as I mostly spar just guys some are heavier. Against females I’d say that European gold medalist Sandra krunk from Poland was my toughest fight she is one tough lady.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Going in I try to keep a clear head concentrate on my tactics and defense and an extremely high work rate.

Who are fighting Next ?
I’m fighting in the European Championships in 2 weeks time in Bulgaria so I will know after the draw.

What do you think you can improve on to become a better fighter ?
My biggest weakness is putting others first sometimes I miss extra training or extra rest etc ..in the ring my biggest weakness would be I can be too slow to start it takes a few rounds before I’m on fire.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I don’t like to think about “the end” of my Career but I would like to be remembered for someone who could be strong tough and skillful in the ring yet look femininĀ and gracious out of the ring.

dervla5

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport of Boxing ?
Katie Taylor has definitely had the biggest impact on the Boxing world in Ireland and many other countries and I can’t wait to see her open up the pro game now and hopefully bring it more to life as she has a huge following so I think women’s pro boxing has a lot to gain from her exchange into the pro ranks.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is definitely aggressive powerful and entertaining.

What dives and motivates you to step in the ring and compete ?
The will to win and be the best drives me more than anything. Everyone has had bad experiences in their life and I guess like any other person I have too but I have learned to overcome them and make those work for me.It makes me push harder in training and become the fighter I am today.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
If I wasn’t a fighter I would still be a jockey as I loved the adrenalin rush I got riding in races plus the competitive side of it too if not that and I had the money to support myself I would be a professional rally driver I love speed.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I normally listen to some motivational music but lately I’ve started listening to a lot of instrumental and classical music and I find it relaxing yet powerful.

Your backstage your music plays whats going through your head as you walk to the ring?
Normally as I walk out to fight I’m telling myself what I’ve gone through to get in this position and I’m not leaving without her head on a plate.

dervla3

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favourite fighter of all time was Edwin Valero (r.i.p). He had amazing power, movement and hand speed I still watch his videos to this day.

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I’m Not training I have a staffie ( winston) that I love dearly and enjoy my time with him or else seeing my family especially my mother who I miss so so much as I’m away from home a lot. Then there’s food it’s hard dieting to fight so I make sure I enjoy it when I can.

What has been your biggest accomplishment so far in the sport ?
I have Irish Senior Elite Titles to date and many gold medals in international tournaments especially the renowned Haringey Box Cup in London that I hold 4 gold medals out of 4 years and best boxer of the Tournament. I have won best Boxer in Sweden at the angered Box Cup and also just recently won best senior boxer in the international Irish Esker Box Cup.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in Boxing ?
In my opinion the biggest challenges like in male boxing is the corruption and politics behind closed doors it’s unfair to young kids never mind the adults. It’s hard to sit and watch a child getting robbed for a decision when you watch them clearly win a fight that can really pull on my heartstrings.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
I’d say it’s not gonna be easy and you will have hard days but you will also have the best days of your life when you immerse yourself in the sport so don’t do it half go all in and come out on top.

Where do you see women’s Boxing in 5-10 years ?
I definitely see more weight categories in the Olympics and a lot of great pro fights on the cards which will enrich the sport even more and thus it will magnify the sport.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In 5 years I may be coaching I’m not sure where yet but I would like to train a champion to the highest level in Boxing when I have finished my career. Before that I may still have a few surprises up my sleeve.

What are your goals within the sport ?
I want to win a major international medal in amateur then who knows I have a few options there but as long as I’m healthy and happy i will keep training harder than my opponent’s.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Yeah I def want to give a huge shout out to Pat Hughes who has put years of hard work into developing my boxing from nothing to something and Ger Mc Daid my club coach who has put endless hours in with not just me but all the boxers in my gym he’s got so much passion and knowledge of the sport its infectious and makes you want to train more and more without thinking about it.

dervla4

