img_3997

November 15th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Josh Meehan
Nickname – The Cape Cod Cowboy
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 4 wins 0 losses
Team – Team Junkio

 

Where are you from ?
I am from Sandwich MA,

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
I have been training for 6 years.

How did you get into MMA ?
I was doing Jiu-Jitsu long before MMA and the faster paced human chess game just seemed like the next step

Tell us about your nickname The Cape Cod Cowboy and how you got it ?
The nickname came about 4-5 years ago, I was getting ready to go to a rodeo school and my friend was joking about my boots and The Cape Cod cowboy just came up, eventually someone made a sticker for a birthday gift and put it on my truck and once Loco Lobo saw it the nick name was written in stone.

What was your defining moment when you looked in the mirror and knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
There wasn’t any defining moment to be a fighter, because I’ve always have been a fighter, I think if you “want” to be a fighter and you get locked in the cage with someone like me who lives to fight you’re not gonna like what happens.

What was the reaction of family and friends when you decided to pursue MMA as a career where they supportive of that decision ?
They were for the most part, they knew it was something that was gonna happen for me eventually. I just think they didn’t expect it to happen right after I turned 18.

What is your current record ?
I have a 4-0 amateur record.

What is your favorite strike or submission to utilize in a fight ?
For submissions I never like to say I have a favorite, I like to be good everywhere but if I’m choking someone I’m generally pretty happy with it.

josh2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration has to come from my own team, either being Mike “Loco Lobo” Gresh or Ariel “Tarzan” Sexton what they’ve done in our sport is insane and just listening to them talk is more motivating and inspiring than any 80’s training montage.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Team Juniko, in Hyannis and Hanover 5-6 days a week , then with our sister school Sityodtong Boston 1-2 days a week.

When you step in the cage where do you want the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or do you prefer to take it to the ground ?
This is the question I’ve been waiting for, I like to stand and fight on my feet, I love the ground and it’s where all my fights have ended but I am very comfortable striking nowadays.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I think being a fighter isn’t something you can teach. You can teach technique and timing but you can’t teach someone to be a fighter, being a fighter is being able to have your face bloodied and your body exhausted and still biting down on your mouth guard and pushing through the mental wall you built around yourself.

What weight do you fight at ?
I debuted at 135 “my walk around weight” but my last 3 fights have been at 125.

What separates you from other fighters in your division ?
There’s a lot of really tough guys in my division, and yes they’re my definition of fighters, but what separates me from them (besides the new shiny belt buckle around my waist) is the people I train with. Top guys and girls from around the world pushing me to my limit multiple times a day everyday. I train with jiu-jitsu black belts and Muay Thai Kru’s the level of training at Juniko and Sityodtong is just on another level.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Right now for me at amateur every fight is a dream fight. I’m still new to this 4 fights is nothing compared to everyone else on my team, I’m just trying to learn as much as possible and have a lot of fun while I’m doing it.

Out of your 4 fights which has been your toughest one ?
My toughest fight mentally was my last fight against William Graustuck, 4 days before that fight my dad passed away and nothing felt right at all, luckily I have a lot of really good teammates and coaches around me that gave me some insight and got me to focus as much as possible.

What is your mindset heading into a fight ?
I like to have a lot of fun when I fight because I love to fight, I like to enjoy every little second of fight night and just savor every moment.

josh4

You are coming off a tremendous win at Cage Titans can you tell us a little about that ?
That night wasn’t even close to my best, going into the fight my head wasn’t right at all. All my teammates knew my opponent even knew, I was flying on auto pilot that fight and if my head was in it I could have performed a lot better.

This fight took on a much deeper and personal meaning to you as you lost someone very special 4 days before the fight how did that affect you and your game plan ?
It didn’t affect the game plan what so ever nothing changed stylistically between my opponent and I so the game plan didn’t change, it was just making sure I wanted to fight and then focusing as much as I could. All the hard work was done the week before so my body was ready, it was just doing everything I could to make sure my mind was going to be.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I’m 18 years old, “the end of my career” isn’t even close to a thought yet

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“The ladies kept telling me I wasn’t good in bed, so I figured I wasn’t a lover then I must be a fighter” – Forrest Griffin

What has been your biggest accomplishment in MMA so far ?
Winning the flyweight title should be on paper my biggest accomplishment but actually my biggest accomplishment is surviving my training sessions every week with people like the Barret brothers, Ariel Sexton, Kaline Medeiros, Sweet bread and just every killer who fills that gym every team practice.

Who has been the biggest influence on you and your career ?
Ariel sexton and Kaline Medeiros, Ariel because of the massive amounts of insight, philosophy and technique he gives me. Kaline for all the same reason but she also keeps me in line and makes sure I’m as humble as an 18 year old champion can be.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
The Gracie’s without a doubt (not just saying that because I train at a Daniel Gracie school) but I believe if it wasn’t for them going into cages against bigger, stronger, scarier opponents and then using simple Jiu-Jitsu techniques to submit them the sport would just be 2 overweight guys throwing over hands (AKA Buffalo Wild Wings on UFC night)

josh5

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I like to say I’m okay at Jiu-Jitsu and don’t mind getting punched in the face.

What drives and motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My team….but also five finger death punch…they’re one hell of a band.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Kylie O’hearn gave me my first little bit of collie flower on my first day of team practice.

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Shining my Cage Titans belt

What advice would you pass on to the next generation of fighters ?
I’m still only 18 so the advice I give might not be the best advice, but what I can say is that it doesn’t matter who you’re fighting, where you’re fighting and whatever other variables you can think of as long as you work harder than your opponent before and during the fight you have an edge.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never set foot in the gym and started training ?
I’d probably be one of those piece of shits wearing vineyard vines telling people I train UFC.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
The fight, it might not be what you wanted for an answer but thinking about the fight is what prepares me to fight.

Do you have any rituals that help prepare you to step in the cage ?
None that are superstitious, I guess I eat a lot after weigh ins, but what fighter doesn’t?

Where do you see MMA as a sport in 5 years ?
I don’t like to think that far into the future, I like to think about my next fight and my training, but I’ll give you the generic MMA fighter answer “I want to be the champion of the world”

What do you think could change moving forward to make the sport better ?
If every promotion followed in promotions like one FC’s foot steps by making weight cuts illegal, they’re terrible for fighters body’s and have killed multiple people, but just not doing that would make fights 100 times harder for fighters because everyone is cutting weight

Who are your favorite fighters ?
Ariel Sexton and Kaline Medeiros
(I’m allowed to say my teammates because they’re the best fighters)

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
There’s so many people all my teammates and training partners Kylie, Peter, Max, Fabio, Kaline, Sarah. My family my mom, my brother.
My girlfriend Bruna for trying to submit me while I’m trying to sleep “trying”.
My dog, My kick ass temperpedic, Ice baths/Epson salt.
Burrito Loco for sponsoring me and giving me free burritos for life.
Massages, Action movies, Spinning back kicks “not because I’m good at them just because they look cool”.
I’m missing stuff but you guys get the point.

josh1

img_3992

 

