alex7

November 17th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Alexander Olave
Weight – 145-155 pounds
Muay Thai Record – 4 wins 3 losses
MMA Record – 0 wins 1 loss
Team – Lockdown MMA

 

Where are you from ?
Originally I was born in Morristown NJ not to far from NYC however I grew up in the DC Metropolitan region , now currently residing in Carlsbad NM.

How long have you been training ?
7 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was really obese at 250lbs I wasn’t particularly a motivated person just a fan of watching UFC. I watched Dan Henderson fight Shogun Rua in their 1st fight and a light bulb went off that was the spark and the beginning of this crazy Idea that I could one day be a professional fighter.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I just go by my regular name Alexander Olave. I want to bring honor to that last name when people hear Olave they know he was one the greatest. There are many miles on this road left before greatness , but its all about the journey not when you get there.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
It was the Hendo vs Shogun fight that sparked the beginning of the journey, but that moment when it clicked when I knew that this was it was after my debut fight as a heavyweight I knocked out the guy in the 2nd Round Broke his nose , knocked out his tooth, and I couldn’t believe the rush , did that really just happen? Yes it did I knew right then and there this was my career not just a fighter but martial artist as well. I’ve since traveled the world fought Internationally lived in Thailand loving every second of this Nak Muay Lifestyle.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
No, not at all, my friends thought I was crazy, my family thought I was crazy, however my little brother followed in my footsteps and he’s killing it on the east coast. Today they are very supportive but in the beginning all the opposition I faced would be enough to make anyone quit but I kept going , kept training , kept dreaming, and now I’m living the dream.

What is your current record ?
Ammy MMA (5-1) , Pro Muay Thai (4-3) , Pro MMA (0-1). My fight careers very young im 25 only getting better and improving everyday, I’m just getting started.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Upper Cut and Arm Bars I love them both!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Nikola Tesla.

alex2

What team do you train with ?
Lockdown MMA in Carlsbad NM.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I love to stand to me there’s nothing like a good stand up war. Of course in MMA we go to the ground. I don’t really stress too much wherever the fight goes im comfortable , essentially my biggest problem.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means taking care of your body, eating right, putting in the work when you don’t want to , and staying motivated when the goal is far away. This sport is not easy for me coming off of 2 back to back losses one in Pro Muay Thai and Pro MMA as well. That’s hard on you mentally after a 4 fight winning streak, 4 Kos at that and then to lose not by finishes but decisions , its tough. What this sport does to you mentally is crazy but if you can just stick through it , if you can just get through those hard times, it will make you grow as a fighter mentally physically spiritually .

What weight do you fight at ?
Currently 144-155 , throughout my fight career ive fought all the way up to heavyweight.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My understanding of the game is far more advanced , its like geometry I’m approaching the entire fight game as a science Distance + Timing = KO. This is a numbers game , in essence to me fighting is math and Im the professor.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Muhammad Ali … R.I.P.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
The toughest fight would have to be vs a guy named Anthony Guiccania I threw everything and the kitchen sink at him and he kept coming forward. Tough fight but I got the victory.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I try to convince myself that if the lights and people weren’t there its just another hard sparring session. The environment can really have an effect on the psyche.

Who are you fighting next ?
I have an awesome manager who is currently looking for my next contract , cant wait to get back in there and re invent myself.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Win or Lose I want to be known as someone who gave everything to this sport regardless of what it gave back because dreams are possible as long as you believe.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.

alex4

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Developing my standup overseas in Thailand and being one of the only Americans fighting out on the Island of Koh Samui, it was on that Island I made my professional Muay Thai debut later collecting 4 KOs.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
There have been so many key players in this but my old Coach Nima Mazahari taught me so much about this fight game from the technical to the business side.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Undoubtedly Connor McGreggor he has changed the game fighters are now making what they are worth at the higher levels.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Technical Brawler, I love a good standup war.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage or ring and compete ?
My family fighting for them not just immediate but everyone who has lent me their love and support.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I use to be Obese , dropped out of high school at 16 and earned a master’s degree by 21.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Cook, look up food recipes , meditate and the esoteric arts.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
If this is what you’re going to do there’s a lot of hard work that must be done, times where you will have your will broken and your spirit tested. How bad do you want it? It’s not easy it’s not for everyone but if you want it it’s for you and it can be done.

alex5

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Prior to fighting I had a career as a government contractor.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Tibetian Mantras and meditation to get myself in a space of pure reflection and allow me to visualize the fight and how I will act under pressure.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Its grown so much in the last 5 in the next 5 I hope to see fighters making the money they deserve , not just the stars but the undercard as well.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I hope to be a World Champion in something. We don’t have long only as long as our bodies say, whether its Muay Thai , MMA , or Jiu Jitsu World Champion Id love to accomplish one of those.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
The pay.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Nick Diaz.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Everyone who has supported me on this journey , those how come to my fights, and my beautiful Girlfriend Ruth Angle she makes it possible to chase this dream.

