jesse2

November 18th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Jesse Bazzi
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 5 wins 1 loss
Team – Michigan Top Team

 

Where are you from ?
Detroit now living in Allen Park Mi. (just outside of Detroit)

How long have you been training ?
6 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
One of my friends found a gym in the neighborhood and I’ve always liked fighting so I started going.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I currently don’t have a nick name. They used to call me Bad Boy Bazzi but I stopped that because I changed my life and became a good man. One of the promoters just started calling me that maybe based on my history.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
Honestly I didn’t start off at a great gym and I started fighting 2 weeks into training. I continued doing it for a few years as a hobby. Then one fight I broke my hand and had a kid in the same month so I thought it was time to stop. But I had the right people giving me good advice and I realized this is what I want to do for a living.

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA?
They have always been supportive. Once I started taking this serious they got more into it.

What is your current record ?
5-1 pro.

What is your favorite strike or submission to utilize in a fight ?
I’m southpaw so I love letting my left hand go from different angles (straight,over hand, hook).

jesse1

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my dad. I never met him and he never did shit. So it drives me to be successful at everything I do.

What team do you train with ?
Michigan Top Team

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I really enjoy it all. I love being a mixed martial artist. I feel I’m very well-rounded.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means the world to me. I couldn’t imagine not fighting.

What weight do you fight at ?
Flyweight 125 pounds.

jesse6

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m a real fighter. I don’t have to try so hard to get my mind right to fight.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
No one specific. Just who ever is the UFC champ when my time comes.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I fought someone a long time ago who was just scrappy and unpredictable and I won but i think it was one of my toughest. I don’t recall his name.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
I train for this shit, I’m ready.

jesse5

 

Who are you fighting next ?
Nothing scheduled yet.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For being the best.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Grind to shine.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Becoming the #1 flyweight in Michigan.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Daron Cruickshank.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Conor McGregor, he has broken several records involving money. I think he is showing that we are worth more than we get paid.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Freestyle boxing with Jiu Jitsu.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
I have a family to take care of. Not just my son and fiancé. I have family I need to get out the hood.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I used to be really good at basketball.

jesse4

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like to spend time with my family and friends doing whatever but I also work full-time so I don’t get a lot of spare time.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
It’s a tough sport mentally and physically. But anything worth it is tough.

What do you think you would be doing today if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably be working and feeling trapped.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I just think about everything I’ve done to physically prepare and all the good people I train with and all the success I have in previous fights.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
No.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years?
I see MMA being the #1 sport in the world.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
One of the top fighters in the best organization in the world.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I think I can continue to show the brutality of it while at the same time showing sportsmanship.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Too many to choose from.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I always fail to remind my girl I appreciate her lol so she’s first she makes this life livable picking up my slack. I want to thank all my friends and family for being here for me and supporting me. All of my sponsors who continue to show me love and support New Me Custom Tee, Kendra Koman Photography, Metro Cal Calibrations, Detroit MMA Tv, 19verse, RonD hip hop artist, Viral Vision Design, and Massage Therapy by Kim Polchlopek.

jesse3

