munib3

November 22nd 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Munib Alsalmani
Nickname – Money
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 3 wins 1 loss
Team – Michigan Top Team

 

Where are you from ?
I am from Dearborn, Mi.

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
I have been training since I was 14, so about 6 years now.

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into MMA because I liked fighting, I tried TKD and Boxing out but I knew when I saw MMA I knew that was what real fighting was.

Tell us about your nickname “Money” and how you got it ?
I got my nick name from a teammate Moe Shatri, one of the first people I began training with. I didn’t like it at first but it has fit me well, baller shot caller!

What was your defining moment when you knew that being a fighter was the path for you?
I can’t say I had one defining moment that lead me to fighting, I just feel it was a natural progression. I always loved to fight, especially when I was a kid, I fought anyone, my friends, neighbors, older, bigger. Truthfully I got beat up plenty of times but I always gave it 110%. Now I know what I want and that’s to be one of the best in the world at this.

When you decided to pursue MMA as a career what was the reaction of family and friends and where they supportive of your decision ?
My family at first was not supportive of my choice to fight, but with every fight they learn to accept it more and more. Thankfully I have been blessed to have a lot of people support me and believe in me way more than I even believe in myself and for that I am truly grateful.

What is your current record ?
My current MMA record is 3-1.

What is your favorite strike to utilize in a fight ?
My favorite strike is a Spinning Elbow.

munib4

Who has been the biggest influence on you and your career ?
My biggest inspiration are my teammates, when they go out and win and fight all over the world it let’s me know that this is possible and that I can do this as well.

What team do you train with ?
I train out of Michigan Top Team & Detroit Jiu Jitsu Academy.

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or go to the ground ?
I am a stand up guy, I love kicking people in the face.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means it’s time to represent, for 15 min-25 min at a time I get to show the world who I am and what the time I’ve put in looks like. Fighting is a representation of yourself.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at Flyweight and also Bantamweight.

What separates you and makes you stand out from other fighters ?
What separates me from the other fighters in my division is my ability to learn and get better between fights. I show that every time I fight I am never showing up the same fighter 365 days a year I am getting better.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
My dream fight would be to fight Bruce Lee, everyone pretty much thinks he is like the baddest dude to ever walk the earth and we are basically the same size so I would have loved to fight him! Much respect to Bruce he inspired everyone that is for sure.

Who has been your toughest opponent and given you your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight to date is definitely my first ever fight, it was a Kickboxing match. I don’t think I’ll ever have a tougher fight.

munib6

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
My mindset going into a fight is to just be calm and relaxed and control my emotions. I feel that’s when I’m at my best when I’m having a good time and enjoying the moment.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for being great, I don’t aim to be good at this. I believe I am blessed with talents and my work ethic is undeniable, there is no limit for me.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
My favorite quote is “Step by step walk the thousand mile road.” Miyamoto Musashi

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I feel I have not accomplished anything in terms of my goals in fighting, I have a goal to fight in the UFC and one day be a champion there and if that’s not what you aspire to then you aren’t in this 100%.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career ?
The most influential person in my career so far would have to be Daron Cruickshank, he has experience all over the world against top competition and a wealth of knowledge and he is definitely one of the best strikers in MMA.

How would you describe your fighting style to someone who has never watched you fight ?
I would describe my fighting style in one way and its smooth operator.

munib5

What drives and motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
What drives me and motivates me is myself and in this game you get what you put in and that’s fact.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Something people might not know about me is that every now and then I like to watch Vampire Diaries and everyone thinks it’s a chick show but that show is action packed I recommend everyone see it!

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I’m not training I like to spend time with my niece and nephew, watch movies, or shoot my bow.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
My advice to young fighters looking to start would be master your basics but keep an open mind for learning and most importantly be creative find what makes you special as a fighter.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
If I didn’t become a fighter I really don’t know what I would do, but I feel the energy I put towards fighting I would put towards something else and I know whatever it were to be I would excel at it.

munib1

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
What gets me mentally prepared for a fight is visualization, I do that a lot I visualize what I would do in exchanges, good and bad positions and by fight time I know I am ready for anything.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I don’t have any pre fight rituals, I just say a quick prayer and that is all.

Where do you see MMA as a sport in 5 years ?
I see the sport of MMA continuing to ascend in the next 5 years.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In 5 years I see myself being in the UFC that is my goal by then.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
What I feel can change in the sport of MMA is the judging, I feel that judges should be people who know the sport and know the consequences of a bad decision on a fighters career for example retired fighters would be great fits.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter right now would have to be Conor McGregor, he is setting the bar high for us all.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my sponsors Realtor Anthony Fawaz, 19verse, Detroit MMA TV, Metro Auto Sales Moe G & New Me Custom Tee’s for the continued support. I also wanna thank my boxing coach Kara Ro she has my hands on a different level at the moment. My coach Daron & the rest of my MTT family!

munib2

