ken2

November 23rd 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Ken Hunt-Mcgowen
Nickname – Wolfmack
Weight – 155 pounds
Record – 9 wins 4 losses
Team – Stars and Strikes MMA

 

Where are you from ?
Detroit MI.

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
4 years since November 2012.

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into MMA after seeing UFC for the first when I was in high school. Also from being bullied, getting jumped twice by 10 plus guys, and individual kids starting fights with me. I had to hold my own and each fight I had, I was good at it. After Becoming an athlete, I always wanted to try out MMA.

Tell us about your nickname “Wolfmack” and how you got it ?
My nickname Wolfmack came from when I was in the 10th grade. I was called Wolfgang at first for the amount of hair I had on my arms. Living in Detroit MI. at the time, my neighborhood formed a group called the Mackave crew. One day I decided to combine them both and formed Wolfmack.

ken5

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a professional fighter and make a career out of it ?
My defining moment when I knew I wanted to become a fighter is when I took my first fight in the cage and won. As an athlete you always want to strive to the top. I knew than this sport is the sport and I’m going all the way to the pros.

When you decided to pursue MMA as a career what was the reaction of family and friends where they supportive of your decision ?
My family and friends was all shocked at first and worried. They didn’t want me to do it at first but they slowly came around and started to support me after I showed the love I had for this sport.

What is your current record ?
My record is 9-4.

What is your favorite strike or submission to utilize in a fight ?
My favorite strike is the superman jab and my favorite submission is the inverted triangle.

Who has been your biggest inspiration ?
My grandmother is my biggest inspiration. She is the main reason I fight. To make her proud and care for her. Her strength and faith keeps me going.

What team do you train with ?
Stars and Strikes MMA Is my team with the amazing coach James Beneteau

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I like to stand and bang with my opponents.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means I can achieve goals that I never achieved before. Pushing myself to new limits, and most importantly inspiring young kids. Helping kids is also why I’m fighting, helping them stay out of trouble and teaching a skill to help protect themselves. Seeing the kids smile is worth fighting, knowing I could be a reason to change their life for the better.

ken4

What weight do you fight at ?
I started fighting at 185, than 170, and now going down to 155.

What separates you from other fighters ?
What separates me from other fights is my story of why I became a fighter. My story gives a reason to fight. I didn’t just become a fighter for the fame. Those fighters have a nice wake up call if they fight me, because I never give up and I work hard every single day.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
If I could have a dream fight, it would be against Anderson Silva. His style of fighting is amazing and I would love to challenge my skills against him.

Which of your fights would you say has been your toughest ?
My toughest fight to date would be against Eric Lora for the Welterweight title at WXC.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
My mindset is staying calm in the cage and unleashing my inner beast.

Who are you fighting next ?
Floyd Jones is who I’m fighting next.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit when you step in the cage ?
A weakness I see in his game is his kickboxing.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I am fighting for the Donofrio fight night at the JOE.

Date and time of your next fight ?
February 4th at 7PM.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as the fighter who never gave up to reach his dreams and fought hard every single time. I want people to know every time I step in the cage, they knew they where about to get an amazing fight to watch.

ken1

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
My favorite quote and motto is Hakuna Matata. It means no worries, and is tattooed on my left arm.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
My biggest accomplishment is winning the welterweight belt for Rage Cage Promotions.

Who has been the biggest influence on you and your career ?
My coach James Beneteau has been the most influential to me in my career. He made me into the fighter that I am today, and is a mentor to me. I am happy to call him my coach and family.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Connor McGregor has the biggest impact in the sport now. After the recent fight he had at UFC 205 making history winning two belts in two different weight class.

How would you describe your fighting style to someone who has never seen you fight ?
I’m a freestyle fighter, mostly a Kickboxer.

What drives and motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My grandmother drives and motivates me everyday.

What is something people might not know about you ?
What people may not know about me is that I am in college for culinary arts and small business entrepreneurship.

ken6

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
In my free time, I like to ballroom and hip hop dance. When I can, I like to go to the gym and play basketball.

What advice would you give to young fighters ?
My advice to young fighters is to never give up on your dream. If fighting is what you want to do than go do it. Give it all you got and listen to no negativity that comes your way.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
I would probably just focus on my college degree if I wasn’t fighting.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I take all the pain I receive from verbal abuse, physical abuse, etc and I get upset. But than I take that energy and control it which than i get really quiet. Now that’s scary whenever I get quiet. That is what I do to mentally get ready for a fight.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
My pre-fight ritual, I just get in a quiet state of mind with my music going and shadow box

Where do you see MMA as a sport in 5 years ?
I see the sport being the number 1 entertaining sport in the business in 5 years

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself in the UFC or Bellator in 5 years.

What do you think can change moving forward to make the sport of MMA better ?
At the moment I’m not sure what can change in this sport. So much has change already with the rules.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is Donald Cerrone. This guy is always ready to fight and doesn’t care who it is. I’m just the same way when it comes to my fights.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to give a shout out to my coach James Beneteau, my grandmother, my dad, my teammates, and all of my family and friends that are with me with my journey in fighting.

ken3

