malik2

November 24th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Malik Lewis
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 4 wins 2 losses
Team – Freestyle Fighting Academy

 
Where are you from ?
I was born in Toledo, Ohio. Raised in Miami, FL.

How long have you been training ?
5 yrs in MMA. 3 yrs consistently.

How did you get in to Mixed Martial Arts ?
I’ve always loved martial arts in general for as long as I can remember. I think I inherited my dads love of martial arts, he use to do it when he was younger also we used to watch those old kung fu movies and I think that made me want to be like those guys.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I don’t have one yet but I cant wait to get one!

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
It’s so crazy because when I started training at FFA I was there every weekend sun up till sun down training. I just loved to train and love martial arts so much that’s all I wanted to do was train. I think all those long hours I spent at the gym caught the attention of Master Marcos and he one night came up and asked me what I planned to do with this, like do I want to be a martial arts instructor or a fighter and all in that one instant it clicked to me and I told him I wanted to be a fighter. In my head the way I saw my life going was I was going to grow up get a really good job and study martial arts. I just knew from I was young that I wanted martial arts to be a part of my life until I died. So when he asked me if I wanted to be a fighter it all made sense to me, basically I get paid to train kill two birds with one stone duhhh I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner.

malik4

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
A good majority don’t like the idea and wish I would do something else but they all support me.

What is your current record ?
4-2.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
I love the Jab,and I love the Darce Choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Glen Johnson.

What team do you train with ?
Freestyle Fighting Academy.

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to Keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
To be honest I’m situational I just love to fight so ill take it wherever but my opponents haven’t been able to hang with me on the feet so that’s where I tend to keep it.

malik1

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Living the way I choose to live. Living unconventional to most people.

What weight do you fight at ?
125 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I don’t train to fight, I fight to train.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Myself. I honestly want to see what its like to fight me.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My first MMA fight was my toughest. It’s the toughest to me because of how I felt during that last round and when it ended. Everything was filled with lactic acid and I just felt bad. A close 2nd would be my loss to khalyash but I didn’t feel like anything was out of my control or anything I just didn’t pull the trigger like I needed to it felt like sparring.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I Dgaf about this guys safety or well-being.
He don’t know nothing about what a real fighter looks like I’m about to show him what a real (insert a technique I have that’s in my head at the time ) looks like.
I’m excited to show everyone my skills I love fighting we about to throw Tf down!
I want to hurt him bad.

Who are you fighting next ?
Nothing in MMA lined up as of now.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
A technical virtuoso, someone who is exciting to watch but also technically sound.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Vision without action is a daydream action without vision is a nightmare.

malik3

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Every win other than my debut has been a KO or TKO.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
In MMA its Master Marcos for sure.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Anderson Silva because he came through the dark ages of the UFC on its way to becoming more mainstream as a household name. I think he’s inspired more fighters than anyone else.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Technical to a fault . Everything I throw is crisp and sharp anybody watching me fight will tell u they see the discipline in my fighting. I am as close to by the book as I can be and im coming with bad intentions behind that so I make for a pretty exciting fight.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Technical mastery.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m not sure.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Film study other fighters. Think about my previous training think how I can make my future training better and what I need to work on.Listen to music, be on Facebook.
Lol I have half-halfheartedly tried to find other things I like but I’m so content right now.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Focus on learning the fundamentals.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would continue nursing school to get my RN license then pursue a job as a Fire Fighter.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
If I get really good sparring I feel the most at ease mentally.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Not really.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Campaigning for a title in which ever is the most popular organisation at the time.
I want to have an IBF, WBO or IBO world title at 126 in boxing and im campaigning for an MMA title.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I’m not sure honestly. I know there are problems and things that can be better but I’ve got no solid solutions as of now.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
At times its Anderson Silva and other times its Jon Jones.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Freestyle Fighting Academy! Glen johnson! Detriot MMA and Boxing Association!

malik5

