shawn1

November 25th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Shawn Mack
Nickname – Tha Quick
Record – 6 wins 2 losses
Weight – 125 pounds
Team – Grand Rapids MMA /M.O.D. Elite Fight Team

 

Where are you from ?
Lansing, Michigan.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for 4 ½ years now.

How did you get in to Mixed Martial Arts ?
I was playing in a Sunday football league (SFL) and wanted to stay in shape, so Nikki “T-Money” Duncan mentioned MMA and then she found GRMMA and we went in and they treated us like family so that’s pretty much how it started. I never thought or intended to even compete but here I am today lol.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Lol, I’ve always had the nickname (Quick) that I got from my brothers. Let’s just say I got it for multiple reasons from my attitude to my speed and quickness.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I never really intended on competing, I always said I’d try it maybe once due to my age at the time (31) but once I had my first MMA bout I liked the rush reminded me of all the times I competed in sports (like that lost feeling).

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My Dad not so much at first (he thought I was stupid for doing it) but I made him a believer. The rest of my family & friends supported me like I knew they would, everyone knows I can scrap so it was just another door I’d knock down.

What is your current record ?
Currently 6-2.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
The overhand right, if landed you’re definitely going to sleep lol. Submission has to be my triangle (Quick-City).

shawn4

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Not who but they – The fans, I’ve meet so many amazing people thru out the years and they inspire me to keep going and their excitement and or joy of me competing is a big inspiration.

What team do you train with ?
The infamous GRMMA (Grand Rapids MMA) & M.O.D. Elite Fight Team

When you step in the cage where do you prefer the fight take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I’d rather stand and bang out, but I’m actually comfortable wherever the fight goes.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Staying humble, hungry and never satisfied; plus, being a role model and inspiration to so many people.

What weight do you fight at ?
Flyweight (125).

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I finish fights that’s what fans come to see! plus I’m brutal I feel I have more to offer in excitement than anyone in my division (and that’s for everyone not just in Michigan).

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Anyone that is known for being the best in the world.

shawn6

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Myself, I haven’t competed to the level I know I can yet – My opponents haven’t showed me anything I haven’t seen before.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Let’s hurry up and get this over with lol my mindset is strong and to me I know I’m prepared for battle so I’m very confident going into a fight.

Who are you fighting next ?
Nothing scheduled, but I have my eye on someone hopefully in February.

What holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponents game that you can exploit when you step in the cage ?
Lots of fighters play it to safe in my eyes.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I’ve fought for TWC, TXC, WXC, KOP and Black Gold promotions.

shawn5

Date and time of your next fight ?
Nothing scheduled.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
One of the best to ever come out of Michigan.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“Welcome 2 Hell”.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
So far just being able to help others in their fight careers and being an inspiration to a bunch of fighters in the game new and old

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My team they’ve always pushed me and we’re not done yet!

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I’m not a huge fan but Conor McGregor has done things in this sport that gives us all hope as far as pay because we put our bodies thru a lot and deserve more

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Striker w/lightning fast submissions (unorthodox & viscous).

What drives or motivates you ?
My kids, I’ve changed my life so much over the years because of them and I can’t let them down.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’ve spent like 5 years of my life locked up (jail) & I’m an Engineer (work)

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
Spending time with friends and family – I’m so busy most of the time so I don’t get to socialize as much as I like.

shawn2

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Find the right people for you in this sport; train consistently and put your all in if you are serious. Improve in all aspects of the game and take criticism as a motivation.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’d probably not be doing much but working and playing basketball here and there.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I’m mentally strong so I’m always ready.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I look in the sky and speak to my Aunt (RIP).

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
It’s already become big so I can see MMA being known as the top sport in the world.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Probably helping upcoming fighters be the best they can and continue training and learning myself.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Promoters need to not worry so much about who can sell this or that but give the fans the fights they want as a promotion that’s what’s needed promotions need to promote (Local promotions)

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I’ve always been a Luis “Sapo” Santos fan.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to thank my family, friends and fans that continue to follow me and help me succeed. My sponsors for their continued help/support thru out the years: Urbans Tattoo Studio (Arlington, TX), Detroit MMA TV, MasterTech Services LLC, SFCL, The Trusted Movers and also Sinclair Photography. Also, my gym/team coaches & teammates: GRMMA/M.O.D.

 

To stay up to date with all the latest news from Shawn click the link below to check out his fan page

shawn3

 

