hayley1

November 28th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Hay;ey Turner
Nickname – The Hailstorm
Record – 2 wins 0 losses
Weight -135 pounds
Team – Team SFS (Scorpion Fighting Systems)

 

Where are you from ?
Louisville, KY.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for a year and a half.

How did you get into MMA ?
I used to play soccer, run track, and was on crew (rowing team) for Indiana University. I like challenges, so I wanted to try something new.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I earned the nickname at my first gym after a sparring session. My old striking coach thought my punching combinations were similar to the barrage of ice during a hailstorm.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
The day I first stepped into a gym.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
A couple of my friends were, but my family was somewhat opposed to it in the beginning. There are still a few that would rather I spend my free time doing something else, but most of my family and friends support my decision now.

What is your current record ?
2-0

hayley1

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
Mounted triangle choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Ronda Rousey.

What team do you currently train with ?
Team SFS – Scorpion Fighting System.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Seeing as how my background is mostly in kickboxing and striking, I like to stand with my opponents. I have been working more on my wrestling and jiu jitsu, so I would like to emulate more of a Nate or Nick Diaz fighting style moving forward.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Conquering my fears – inside and outside the cage ?

What weight do you fight at ?
135.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I have a skill that can’t be taught or learned: heart.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Ronda Rousey.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Jennifer Johnson at WXC 65.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Listen to my corners and follow our strategy to a T. Improvise when necessary.

Date and time of your next fight ?
TBD

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
This is a tough question and a controversial one. There are many people who come to mind: Conor McGregor, Ronda Rousey, Jose Aldo, Anthony Pettis, Meisha Tate… it really depends on if we are talking about exposure or evolution of the sport. Overall, I would have to say either Conor (exposure) or Ronda (visibility/ability for women to compete).

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Striker.

What drives or motivates you ?
My hunger to be victorious – proving everyone wrong.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a huge gamer, and I have pretty much all consoles except the PS4.

hayley2

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Getting back into soccer leagues.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
“Prove Them Wrong” and “It’s Up To You” speeches.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage ?
No.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
“It’s me, I’m the one. I am my only problem and I am my only solution.”

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Ronda Rousey.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Play S.T.A.L.K.E.R. (or whatever game I’m playing at the time)

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning the Michigan Open (gi jiu jitsu) in the Light weight division.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Understanding that we have to work harder to be recognized for what we accomplish.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Don’t listen to those that wish to bring you down. Always remember, it’s all up to you. Do what makes you happy, and ignore all the rest.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Hopefully with more than two weight divisions in the UFC, larger amount of competitors on Invicta / UFC / OneFC rosters.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Hopefully in the UFC.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To be an inspiration to young women who want to get into MMA / combat sports but aren’t sure how. To teach women that this isn’t just a mans sport.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Katie Paugh and Brandon Baumer, they’ve been by my side cheering me on since day one.

hayley3

