jason1

December 1st 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Jason Perrin
Weight – 135 pounds
Record – 3 wins 2 losses
Team – Sityodtong Boston

 
Where are you from ?
I’m from Lowell, Massachusetts.

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
I’ve been training since I was 15 years old. So just under 9 years.

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into MMA through a therapist I had. I was a really troubled kid with a lot of anger and psychological issues. I needed an outlet really bad and had watched the UFC…. I became a Tapout kid. Shamefully. But my therapists office was right next to Triumph BJJ (At the time it was Gracie Barra Nh) and from there it was history.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I don’t really HAVE a nickname. Some people used to call me prime time as an amateur, but it never really stuck.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew that being a fighter was what you wanted to be ?
I’ve been fighting my whole life. Call it short man syndrome or whatever you would like, but i always felt that i had to prove myself being as small as i was. So that got me into a lot of fights growing up. I come from a long line of boxers too, martial arts is in my blood. So even as a child i knew i was good at this enough to be something special.

When you decided to pursue MMA as a career what was the reaction of family and friends did you have there support ?
Half of my family is all about it. The other not so much. All of them support me just not all of them agree with the sport, which I get. With as much success as I’ve had, they seem to be coming around to my side a little more.

What is your current record ?
I am currently 3-2. A record I’m not very satisfied with and intend to make much better over the next year.

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
I’m a striker at heart. But I can do anything anywhere. Being on the ground is just fine for me too.

Who has been your biggest inspiration ?
I have been blessed with a lot of inspirations. My grandfather being one. He’s the most respectable, most humble and kind-hearted man I’ve ever known. It’s his lineage that i carry as a fighter. And at 74 years old, that man’s got lightning in his hands. Slap boxes the SHIT out of me in the kitchen. He hates MMA being an old school boxer, but he loves that i carry fighting on.

What team do you train with ?
I train with the best team in New England. Team Sityodtong Boston in Somerville.

jason3

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
Again like I said, I’m cool with anywhere a fight goes. But if I can make your eyes roll back with a right hand or a shin to the jaw I’d much prefer that.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means being a symbol. Someone who can take punishment day after day and keep going. Being a fighter means being someone else’s hope or inspiration to keep going. I work so hard to show others that if I can keep going then so can they. It may seem corny. But being a sign of strength for others gives me more to fight for.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at the stacked weight division of 135 pounds.

What separates you from the rest of the fighters at 135 pounds ?
The difference between myself and others is that I live and breathe this shit. I’ll run 5 miles before i go to training for 4 hours and then come home and do more. This is what i do. I come to fight. A lot of these other fighters don’t wanna fight they wanna hug or lay on top of you. But with me, i wanna hurt you. Any and everywhere we go in the fight. You’re going ro hit me and I’m gonna call you a bitch. If you’ve watched any of my fights, people who try to FIGHT me never win. IT’S always the ones who hold on for dear life that get the edge.

If you were given the chance to have one dream fight who would it be against and why?
Psh a dream fight huh? I’ve never thought about that to be honest. My dream fight involves a belt with the letters UFC on it. whoever should stand in my way of having it is my dream fight.

Who has been your toughest opponent and fight to date ?
I would say my TOUGHEST fight to date was against Zech Lange. If I’m being honest I had prepared for his brother thinking it was him. So I had to make up a new game plan on the fly. Not to make excuses it was a great fight, and even though i think i did enough to get the nod, i can see where Zech won the fight. Real competitive i would do it again in a heart beat.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
My mindset going into a fight is Freedom. Look I get to do this every day at the gym. It’s no different to me on fight night. There is so much that is fake about the world we live in. But not in that cage. In there is no lying or faking. You just be you in your entirety. I love what i do, why should it make me feel anything but joy?

Who are you fighting next ?
I don’t have an opponent currently but working on it.

What promotion are you looking to fight for ?
Shooting for January 27th on CES. just putting my name in the hat there I would love to put on a show for them.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I wanna be remembered as something great. Not some flash in the pan. I want to inspire my fans and when my name comes up they’ll all say “man he was something special” 20 years from now.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Favorite quote: All warfare is based on deception.

jason8

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport thus far?
My biggest accomplishment was entering the Bellator cage back in April. Although i got completely robbed and want that rematch i was proud of my performance and beating the shit out of that man for 15 minutes. I won. He knows it. Everyone who was there knows it. He limped out of the cage. Other than that it was an amazing experience.

Who has had the biggest influence and impact on your career ?
I couldn’t pin point one person in particular that’s helped my career more than others. But I’ve vastly improved my overall game since my training at SYT.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Anderson Silva for sure. That man is our Muhammad Ali. And if he was more serious during his recent fights he would be up for another title shot.

How would you describe your fighting style to someone who has never seen you fight ?
I can’t put a label on my style other than I’m a FIGHTER. not a wrestler, or a boxer or a jits player. I fight.

jason4

What drives and motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
I have a big fear of being forgotten. It’s driven me for years. But a huge motivator is all the people who message me, strangers I’ve never met, and say that I inspire them to not give up on whatever they’re having trouble with. Having those people believe in you, have them want to better themselves simply by doing what I love… That’s one thing worth fighting for.

What is something people might not know about you ?
It isn’t hard to tell. But I’m a huge nerd. Comics, anime, STAR WARS. All that. I will correct you if you’re wrong about any of those things.

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I’m not training I like to read. I always exercise even outside of camp. Video games. Bars. Ya know…23 year old stuff.

What advice would you give to the next generation of Mixed Martial Artist ?
If you’re young take your time. If you want to fight, train at least a year and speak to your coaches first. Train in everything. We’re playing a game that at the top everyone is good everywhere. Practice often and practice right.

Where do you think your life would be today if you had never found MMA ?
Honestly I wouldn’t have become anything good. Wouldn’t have been surprised if I had ended up in jail.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I don’t need to mentally prepare really. But if anything visualization. Seeing the fight happen in my mind the day its announced helps. I love what I do, and i work my ass off. I have never not come to a fight prepared to do what i had to

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Not really. I take a knee and speak to those I’ve lost along my journey and ask them to watch closely. Other than that I go in there to do my job.

Where do you see MMA in 5 years ?
MMA will be the premiere international sport. I’m hoping that fighter pay will be vastly improved. It will continue to grow, and hopefully with time the UFC will have more competition from other promotions to make the SPORT more complete.

jason2

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself holding a shiny UFC belt before I’m 30.  That is the goal.

What do you think can change moving forward to make the sport better ?
Fighter pay and rights should be improved. As well as the overall MMA market being less of a monopoly under the UFC.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighters are Nick Diaz and TJ Dillashaw. It’s a tie.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I wanna give a huge shout out to Team Sityodtong. Kru Mark, Rob Font all the coaches like Andy and Tyson. All my teammates and fans thank you all so much for everything you do for me and thank you for believing in me.

 

To follow Jason and keep up with all his late breaking news click the link below and go check out his fan page.

jason6

