dennis2

December 5th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Dennis Stewart
Weight – 135-145 pounds
Record – 8 wins 2 losses
Independent Fighter

 

Where are you from ?
Jackson Mi.

How long have you been training ?
About 3 years on and off.

How did you get in to MMA ?
My basketball buddy Mike Pantangco got me hooked up with Jeff Wagner and I fell in love with the sport.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I don’t have a nickname, i have been thinking about it a lot tho and hope to have something good soon.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
Right before my first fight.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Half and half, some said I would be good at it and others said it was crazy.

What is your current record ?
8 wins 2 losses.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
A secret one I made up.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Defeat.

What team do you train with ?
I’m currently solo.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I don’t really have a preference the fight goes where it goes.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
That I am accomplishing something, im making progress to becoming something great.

What weight do you fight at ?
135 or 145 I was thinking of going to 125 tho.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I really am still trying to figure it out, I see there’s something.. Maybe im just a killer lol.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Demetrious Johnson.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I guess id say Dylan Dunnington but ive never felt that I was really in a tough spot… Yet.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Really its like my mind is racing but I am not actually thinking about anything.. I stay pretty zoned out until the fight starts.

dennis5

Who are you fighting next ?
I need a fight, who needs a fighter?

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to break some kind of record or something.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Hard work pays off.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Fighting twice in one night and getting my 135 pound belt.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Jeff Wagner got me started and taught me a lot. He helped me set up a good base to build my skills around.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Man somewhere between GSP and Anderson Silva.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Like water.

What drives or motivates you ?
The need for success.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a pretty good handy man.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I’m either in the gym, working or with kids.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Dont stop!!!! No matter what if this what you want to do, don’t stop every second that you put in adds up.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I don’t even need to say it cause we all know.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Watching some fights.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
nothing special, if you train right fight day is the easy day.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Man even bigger, its growing so much I hope to see some more promotions.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Hopefully fighting full-time but no matter what always daddy.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Make it more accessible for us fighters! We already fighting stop hitting the pockets.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I don’t have one, I have different things i like about different fighters.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Everybody that’s supported me every promoter thats put me on a show all the people who have taught me the sport and everybody willing to train with me. You know who you aren’t.

dennis4

