billy1

December 7th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Billy Giovanella
Nickname – The Wolverine
Weight – 125-135 pounds
Record – 9 wins 5 losses
Team – Connors MMA

 

Where are you from ?
Bellingham, Ma.

How long have you been training ?
I wrestled in high school, started fighting in 2010.
How did you get in to MMA ?
A few years after high school I did the bay state games for wrestling and went 2-2, decided then I wanted to do something to keep being competitive.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My first amateur fight I was wearing a wolverine t-shirt warming up, always loved the marvel character and someone said I looked like him, stuck ever since.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I won my first fight by RNC, I thought hey I could be great at this MMA thing.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
It’s one of the first things my buddies ask me when I haven’t seen them in a bit “when’s the next fight!” My mom was never thrilled about me doing it, but it has grown on her a bit.

What is your current record ?
9-5.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
I love me a triangle choke, I’ve finished 3 pro fights with it, nothing better!!!

What team do you train with ?
Connors MMA out of Norwood Ma.

When you step in the cage do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’ve always been known as a ground fighter.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I love it, everyone always wants to know how training is going, and it’s great having little kids I coach look up to me as a role model.

What weight do you fight at ?
125-135 pounds.

billy3

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I have a lot of experience, this will be my 22nd fight including my amateur career coming up.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Dominick Cruz, I wouldn’t even want to fight him, just spar and pick his brain, love his style.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I’ve even told this fighter this after we kept in touch and trained together, Dan Cormier, I won a split decision against him, couldn’t walk for 3 days cause of his vicious leg kicks.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Cool, calm, relaxed, that crazy mentality of getting so fired up just doesn’ t do it for me.

Who are you fighting next ?
I will be fighting Alex Keshtov for the Global Proving Grounds 135 pound title.

billy5

 

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit when you step in the cage ?
I know he’s a very skilled martial artist, but I bring with me a ton of experience and a very gritty wrestling game.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
GPG.

Date and time of your next fight ?
December 17th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Just someone who loved what he was doing win-lose or draw.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Vincit Qui Si Vincit, “he who prevails himself is twice victorious”.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Like I said before,I am a huge Dominic Cruz fan, I think he brings a unique style and unique perspective to the fight game.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Grappling based style, gritty and grinding.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Just staying healthy motivates me, I’m 31 now and have been in the best shape of my life doing this.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I have a career in the culinary field, which keeps me pretty busy.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time
Free time? Ask any one I know I’m always busy doing something.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Take fights, esp as an Ammy, you can start over as a pro and train smart, as you get older you defiantly have to take care of your body more to keep it well maintained and feeling good.

billy6

What do you think you would be doing today if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’m not sure, I never really though about that, probity just working more.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Feeling confident in myself, knowing that I can win.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Right before every fight as I’m in the corner I do an interesting stretch, my coach has us do it now before our Jiu Jitsu classes, he calls its the Billy G stretch.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Fighters at top-level making good money, just imagine how good a lot more people would be if they could train full-time and not have to work a 40+ hour a week job and train when they can.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Perhaps still fighting, we’ll see, when my body tells me I’m done I’ll hang up the gloves.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Safer training.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Cruz!!!!

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
YES! All of my sponsors for this fight, It’s huge when people help out with costs as far as medical sand travel for these events. My Coach John Connors and all my training partners, Tom Haffers over at USMMA for always welcoming me to train over there, My Manager JJ Grube for always looking to keep me active and Sean over at Prime Athletics for always making sure I’m well represented with amazing gear and sponsor material.

Thanks! for the interview!!!!!

billy4

