justin2

December 16th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Justin Witham
Nickname – War Badger
Weight – 125 Pounds
Record – 2 Wins 4 Losses
Team – ShatterProof Combat Club

 

Where are you from ?
Originally from Hartland Maine now live in Ripley Maine.

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
I have been training MMA for close to 3 years now.

How did you get into MMA ?
I went to a few shows and found what i thought i could be good at and got an offer to fight under Team Nightmare but soon found myself wanting the next level of training and competition. I found the guy who is now one of my best friends and coach Derek Shorey and what we have at SCC is more than the best for me!

Tell us about your nickname War Badger how did you get it ?
Well my nickname was Fists of Bricks. I soon found out a lot about myself and as my team were driving down the road we all decided I love wars ( good fights) so it was soon to be War Badger!

What was the defining moment when you knew you wanted to pursue a career in MMA?
I was at an NEF event supporting my favorite local fighter at the time ( The Ryan Sander) and i wanted something of my own in MMA.

When you decided to pursue a career in MMA what was the reaction of family and friends and where they supportive ?
My wife is my biggest supporter and a big reason why I fight! My whole family was pretty good about me doing it. They all said “If it’s what i want then do it”.

What is your current record ?
My record is 2-4. 2 and 1 with SCC.

justin3

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
RNC favorite sub, Hooks are my favorite strike!

Who inspires you to train hard and compete at the level you do ?
My biggest inspiration is my GrandFather! He passed away a few years back but I strive to be half the man is was!

What team do you train with ?
I train with ShatterProof Combat Club!

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to stand and strike or take it to the ground ?
I love to stand and fight but I’m growing to love the ground game just as much!

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means many things to me But most importantly it’s a means to show my son and my unborn child to always chase your dreams!

What weight do you compete at ?
I fight at flyweight at 125 pounds.

What separates you from other fighters ?
What separates me is Heart, Determination, and Will Power!

If you were given the chance to have one dream fight who would it be against and why?
My dream fight would be Mighty Mouse Johnson!

Out of your 6 fights which would you say has been your toughest ?
My toughest fight so far would have to be my last fight Against Connor Murphy I found myself in a few bad spots and really had to fight to win!

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
My mindset going into all my fights is train hard and the fight comes easy! So fight night I’m simply Ready!

Who are you fighting next ?
My next fight is a non title match against the 125 champ 2-1 Ryan Burgess!.

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to exploit in his game when you step in the cage ?
Ryan is a great wrestler and I am far from over looking him but i see weaknesses in all area’s of his game that i will exploit!

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I fight for New England Fights ( NEF )

justin4

Date and tie of your next fight ?
My next fight is February 11th 2017!

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I simply want to be remembered as a guy that comes to fight win-lose or draw!

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Favorite quote ” Success Trains Failure Complains”.

What has been your biggest accomplishment so far in MMA ?
I feel my biggest accomplishment has been who i am now as a person from who i was!

Who has had the biggest influence on you and your career ?
My coach Derek Shorey has been the most influential to me!

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on MMA ?
Conor McGregor i think has had the biggest impact on the sport. Why because he brings a new world to the sport. A very impressive way of fighting and an entertainment level as well!

How would you describe your fighting style to someone who has not seen you in the cage ?
My style of fighting is well-rounded.. I’m prepared for anything!

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My son and unborn child drive me to be the best I can be!

What is one thing people might not know about you ?
Something people might not know about me… I’m a movie bufff.. I love watching movie’s!

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I’m not training I love Spending time with my wonderful son and wife!

What advice can you give to the next generation of fighters ?
Set a goal and don’t stop for nothing..

What do you think you would be doing today if you had not become a fighter ?
If i wasn’t fighting i would simply just be a father.. The only thing i love more than fighting is being a dad!

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
What gets me mentally prepared for a fight is a great training camp!

justin5

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
My pre fight ritual is train hard and be ready for anything in a fight!

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
The sport is on a growing path and it’s not gonna slow anytime soon.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I will be the 125 champ!

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better ?
Giving a better understanding to those who don’t understand the sport maybe through more advertising.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is Anderson Silva.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I Would like to thank first my fan’s , friend’s and family! MY coaches Derek Shorey, Zack Adams, Stacy Lupo. All my teammates who help me prepare for my fights! Angelo and Kristy for everything you guys have done and then some! My wonderful wife and my amazing son and unborn baby! All the other fighters who gave their experience and time to help me cross train! Thanks to Matt and Nick of the NEF for giving me a stage to perform on! Thanks to all the other fighters that step inside the cage with me! ShatterProof Combat Club & The Outlet Family I love you all!

justin6

To stay up to date with all the late breaking news from Justin click the link below and go check out his fan page
https://www.facebook.com/pg/Justin-WaR-BaDger-Witham-1513103355600270/photos/?ref=page_internal

