akeela1

December 23rd 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Akeela Al-Hameed
Nickname – AK
Record – 3 Wins 0 losses
Weight – 115-145 Pounds
Team – Spartan Mixed Martial Arts

 

Where are you from ?
Fort Dodge, Iowa.

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
Two and a half years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was introduced to MMA by a former fighter Dan Kiser.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
No nickname, but a former training partner tossed in “AK”. ( First two letters of my name)

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
There wasn’t a specific moment. There has been many moments that reinforce my dream of becoming the best mixed martial artist. I just know that what I am doing now feels natural and rewarding.

akeela5

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family and Friends are very supportive.

What is your current record ?
Amateur MMA 3-0.

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
The one that results in Tap, Snap, or Nap.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My mother, Vanissa’s Love is my biggest inspiration. All that I am, or hope to be, I owe to my mother.

What team do you train with ?
Spartan Mixed Martial Arts.

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to stand with your opponent or take it to the ground ?
I have no preference, I find my opponent’s weakness and exploit it.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
A human being who is willing to develop physically, emotionally, mentally and most importantly spiritually in the loneliest, most humbling, and self actualizating  sport today.

What weight do you fight at ?
Featherweight to Bantamweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My experiences and the lessons I have learned from them.

akeela7

Out of your three fights who has been your toughest opponent ?
Everyone I have competed against was tough. Hard to call out just one because they each brought their own problems I had to solve.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Settling my spirit.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Humility, Dedication, Skill and Heart.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Tom Schmitz, my coach at Spartan Mixed Martial Arts has been there since day one. He is providing me with the necessary tools to realize and achieve my goals in life.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
There are numerous MMA pioneers who contributed to the sport. I only know one of them personally, Kelly Schmitz (Kobold). She has had tremendous effect on my growth so I give credit where it is due.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Mixed Martial Artist.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Mastery.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I served one tour in Afghanistan.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
In someone’s gym tossing weights around with my brother.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Visualization and Meditation.

akeela9

your backstage your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage?
I am only listening to my corners and keeping my spirit calm as I walk to the cage.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is actually a boxer, Vasyl Lomachenko.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Sleep and eat.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Not quitting when adversity had the upper hand.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Women must open themselves up in this sport and embrace the terror that this sport presents. Women must develop the competitive edge and welcome the possibilities this sport has to offer.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Fight, Fight, Fight. Train, Train, Train.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
More divisions within many MMA promotions. I also see the skill and abilities of WMMA increasing with time.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Training daily and passing on the knowledge that I have to help others achieve their goals.

What are your goals within the sport ?
World Champion WMMA, World Champion Jiujistu, Mastery of Mixed Martial Arts.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
The whole squad at Spartan Mixed Martial Arts and Train Your Way Fitness. My friends and family who have been supportive since day one and my coaches who put in the time and effort into all of the students.

akeela8

