christine6

December 27th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Chrsitine Brothwell
Nickname – Harley Quinn
Weight – 125 Pounds
Record – 0 Wins 2 Losses
Team – Bucket Brigade

 

Where are you from ?
My hometown is Raymond NH.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been involved in martial arts for over 5 years now, MMA specifically for a little over two years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I started doing BJJ and decided to try the MMA class they offered, the rest is history.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Harley Quinn. My coach absolutely love comics, he started calling me Harley one day, I wear all compression gear and laugh while grappling which creeps some people out.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
The very first time I went to an event, I don’t even remember which promotion it was but I fell in love with the sport on the spot.

christine4

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
To the extent any parent can support their child when they’ve chosen to do combat sports. They know I love the sport and it makes me happy.

What is your current record ?
0-2

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight
Any submission that works and any strike that connects well.

What team do you train with ?
Bucket Brigade out of Nashua NH.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Since I did so many years of BJJ I’m equally comfortable standing as I am on the ground.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It’s a huge part of my life at this point. Fighting helped me to find who I am, provided me with physical and mental strength, boosted my confidence, and provides me with an outlet for all of my stress.

What weight do you fight at ?
125 Pounds

What promotion are you fighting for ?
NEF (New England Fights)

christine5

Date and time of your next fight ?
2/11/17
What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to know that I’ve been a positive influence in the lives of the younger teammates that come to my gym.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coaches.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Constant forward pressure, domination.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Constant desire to improve myself, to push myself past my limits. If I find something I cannot do I try to perfect it or modify it so I can do it.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Probably working towards owning my own BJJ gym.

christine2

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Support from my training partners, visualizing how I want certain things to happen.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage ?
Like a lot of fighters I listen to music to help me focus.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
No real thoughts other than “my cage, my fight”.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Simply getting in the cage was a huge accomplishment for me.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Being taken seriously as a fighter. I’ve unfortunately heard way too many comments from spectators about how “chick fights” are hot or some other nonsense along those lines focusing more on the fighter’s looks rather than her skills.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
If you love the sport, stick with it. Find a team who will see you as a fighter who happens to be female, a team that will treat you as an equal.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Hopefully the sport will stop focusing so much on male vs female and focus on the skills and abilities of the fighters.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I’ll still be training on some level but not necessarily fighting.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To train and compete for as long as I can.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My coaches Nuri Shakir and Matt Pedro, and my main training partner John McAndrews.

christine1

