dominic2

January 2nd 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Dominic Jones
Nickname – The Dominator
Weight – 135 Pounds
Amateur Record – 8 Wins 1 Loss
Team – First Class MMA

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Orange Park which is in Jacksonville Florida.

How long have you been training In Mixed Martial Arts ?
I’ve been training since I was little doing Taekwondo with my dad .

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into MMA because of my dad . I had good combat skills and I wasn’t using them so my dad took me to a gym called First Coast Full Contact. That’s where I met my other family Team Riot.

Tell us about your nickname “The Dominator” and how you got it ?
I got the nickname the dominator because I dominated all my opponents each round.

What was the defining moment when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do?
I knew I wanted to become a fighter when I started training with the fight team. I liked the idea of punching and kicking people lol.

When you decided to pursue MMA as a career what was the reaction from your family and friends where they supportive of your decision ?
My family and friends are super supportive of me . My dad and mom have done a lot for me in my career and through my career I met my soon be wife she has done a lot for me dealing with my weight cuts and training.

What is your current record ?
I fought amateur and finished with an 8-1 record with 3 titles now I will be going pro april 29th.

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
I really don’t have a favorite strike or submission I like them all.
Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My brother and sisters are my inspiration. I want to a be role model for them set the tone and make them proud of their big brother.

What team do you train with ?
I train with First Class MMA in Brunswick Maine .

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to stand and bang or take it to the ground ?
I like to stand and grapple with my opponent depends where the fight goes.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means working hard, believe in yourself and be the best you can be. Leave everything in the ring.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 135 Bantamweight.

What separates you from other fighters ?
Nothing really separates me from others we are all training to reach the same goal and make it to the big show.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
My dream fight would be against Demetrious Johnson UFC flyweight champion.

Out of your 9 Amateur fights who would you say was your toughest opponent?
All my fights have been tough.

 

What is your mindset heading into fight night ?
My mindset for the fight is to get my hand raised.

Who are you fighting next ?
Can’t say who I’m fighting next but I know my opponent has no wrestling and his striking and stand up game are not very good.

What promotion will you be fighting for ?
I’ll be fighting for NEF.

Date and time of your upcoming fight ?
I’ll be fighting April 29th in Lewiston Maine.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as one of the greatest MMA champions of all time.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
My favorite quote is I dream big, I work hard by Jordan Burroughs .

What has been the biggest accomplishment of your career so far ?
My biggest accomplishment is this sport was winning 3 titles and being the #1 featherweight and Bantamweight in Florida.

Who has had the biggest influence on you and your career ?
My Dad has been most influential to me he has done a lot to support me and encourage me to do better. I love my Dad he is my hero.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact or influence on MMA ?
I think there’s a lot of fighters out there in the UFC who have had huge impacts on the sport. To many to name lol.

dominic4

How would you describe your fighting style to someone new to the sport ?
I’m a strong wrestler with good stand up. I like to grapple and keep it on the ground.

What dives and motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My family drives me to fight better and harder. Without my parents, siblings, grandparents, aunts and uncles and my fiancé I wouldn’t have made it this far.

What is something people might not know about you ?
People might not know that I’m starting to like the Patriots lol.

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I’m not training I like spending time with my fiancé and play video games.

 

What advice would you give to the next generation of Mixed Martial Artist ?
The advice I have to give to younger fighters is to listen and take your time and train your butt off.

What gets you mentally prepared to step in the cage do you have any rituals that get you ready before you fight ?
I listen to music before every fight and I hug my family.

Where do you see yourself 5 years down the road ?
In five years I see myself in Bellator or UFC.

What do you think can change moving forward to make the sport better ?
Nothing really has to change for the sport.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is George St. Pierre.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my fiancé Mollie, my Dad, Mom, step dad and step mom. My grandparents, my siblings, aunts and uncles. I want to thank my friends and teammates . And I want to thank Jamie Harrison and John Rioa for everything and being great coaches !!

dominic3

