amy8

January 5th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Amy Timlin
Nickname – Lion Heart
Weight – 55kg-57kg (121-125 Pounds)
Record – Undefeated
Team – Wayne Elcock’s Boxing Academy

 
Where are you from ?
The United Kingdom.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for almost 12 years.

How did you get into Boxing ?
I was a kick boxer but now I’m an A.B.A boxer.

Tell us about your nickname “Lion Heart” and how you got it ?
Lion heart ❤️ I got the name because I never give up even when the fight gets tough!! I dig deep and still manage to scrape a win.

When did you realize you wanted to be a fighter and how did you feel when you made that decision ?
I was relieved because fighting is the one thing that makes me happy!! Boxing is everything to me.

When you decided to start competing what was the reaction of family and friends where they supportive ?
My family and friends was very supportive!they wanted me to be happy and they knew that boxing was my life and I couldn’t imagine myself doing anything other than boxing.

What is your current record ?
Undefeated!! I’m currently the kickboxing world champion in my division.

What is your favorite strike or combination to use in a fight ?
My favorite strike is definitely a body shot or right punch straight through my opponent’s guard.

Who is your biggest inspiration in Boxing ?
Holly Holm is my idol!! She was an 18x world boxing champion and is now the former bantamweight champion. She’s a great role model to look up to and that’s why I very much look up to her, she inspires me to be like her. My other role model is Anthony Joshua.

What team do you train with ?
Wayne Elcock’s Boxing Academy. Also known as box clever.

amy3

When you step in the ring how do you dictate the pace of the fight ?
I like to keep my opponents on their feet and I play smart with them. Sometimes I’ll counter their shots but I’m mainly an aggressive attacking fighter. Always keep my opponents on the back foot.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Fighting means everything to me. I don’t know where I would be without boxing!! It’s literally everything to me and I’ll always love this sport.

What weight do you compete at ?
I usually box around 57kg but I can also fight at 55kg too.

What separates you from other fighters ?
My aggression really puts my opponents off! I’m also a hard hitter too which my opponents hate.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
My dream fight would definitely be against someone like Katie Taylor!! She’s a class fighter and it would be a massive opportunity to step in the ring with her and gain a hell of a lot of experience in the fight. I love to fight the best out there and in my opinion, Katie Is one of the best.

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
MY toughest fight was against an Irish girl called Jennifer Molloy, our fight was brutal. It was a toe to toe war from start to finish for the European title and I won but it was tough and I had to earn that belt.

What is your mindset going into fight night ?
My mindset is always confident! I believe that when I step into the ring that I’m untouchable. If you go into the fight thinking you’re going to lose then you’ve already lost the fight because you’re doubting yourself before you get in.

When and where are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting in the Nationals next but I’m not sure who it’s against yet.

What holes or weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponents when you step in the ring ?
I can see in my opponents eyes if their ready for the fight at the weigh in when I stare them down. But I never underestimate any of my opponents. You can’t judge a book by its cover.

What promotion do you fight for ?
I used to fight in WKA, WKU, ICO but now I’m fighting in the A.B.A.

Date and time of your next fight ?
January 21st at the Nationals! I’m not sure what time I’m fighting though.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as one of the best female fighters to come out of the UK.

Who or what has had the biggest influence on you and your Boxing career ?
I’ve got little kids who really look up to me as a fighter and I’m their role model. I fight the best for them because I want to be a good influence on them and I want the best out of them!! They literally mean everything to me and I would never was to disappoint any of them! They think of me as their idol and I can’t let them down.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is aggressive but I’m also really technical too which puts my opponents off guard.

What drives or motivates you to step in the ring and compete ?
I’m always watching videos of Anthony Joshua, GGG and all of the greatest boxers and it motivates me to be on top. People might not know that I used to struggle with really bad nerves!! My confidence was so low a few years ago and I couldn’t step into the ring because my nerves got the better of me and now people always tell me how relaxed I look before fight but inside I am nervous! But I have good nerves now!! Nerves can make you sharper when you’re in the ring.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never started training and fighting?
I probably wouldn’t have done anything in all honesty.
What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I train hard constantly 6 days a week! I wake up at 6AMto do a 4 mile run every morning before college. I would never lose a fight to fitness! I’m prepared for fights because I train so hard none stop.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the ring ?
I just think about my hand getting raised and how my opponent made me diet etc.. I take my aggression out on my opponent in pay back which makes me more determined to win.

amy6

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is Anthony Joshua.

When you are not training or preparing for a fight what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I’m not training, I’m usually go for a run haha but other than that I usually go out with my mates.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning my world title or becoming gold medalist in the Italy championships 2 years ago.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in combat sports ?
There’s a lot of upcoming female fighters that are coming into the sport and the woman’s division at the moment is through the roof!! All the woman have got a 50/50 chance of winning.

What advice can you give to other young female fighters ?
Don’t give up. If things don’t go right the first time get back up and try again because practice makes perfect. No ones perfect. You’ve just got to keep going and don’t give up on your dreams.

Where do you see women’s Boxing/MMA in the next 5 years ?
Woman’s mma will be massive in 5 years time!! There’s some good fighters coming into it now so it should be interesting.

Where do you see yourself 5 years down the road ?
I want to qualify for the 2020 Olympics in boxing so hopefully I should be there in just under 4 years time.

What are your future goals and plans ?
My goals are to finish my amateur career and when I’m older turn pro and get contracted to someone like Eddie Hearns

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would love to thank my family and friends for always believing in me from the start and not giving up on me. I would also like to thank my coaches for getting me where I am today and I would also like to give my sponsor a shout out —> Billionmore Eclub (herosporto) for sponsoring me my fight kit.

amy7

To follow Amy and stay up to date on all her late breaking news click the link below to go check out her fan page
https://www.facebook.com/lionheart123/

