cody8

January 16th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Cody Moberly
Nickname – Black Shark
Weight – 135-145 Pounds
Record – 23Wins 15 Losses 7 Knockouts
Team – Black Shark Muay Thai

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Wichita, Kansas.

 

How long have you been training in Muay Thai ?
I have been training since I was 16 so 12 years of training.

 

How did you get into Muay Thai ?
I got into Muay Thai after watching a documentary about it. I had just dropped out of school and was working for a plumber..I hated it.

 

Tell us about your nickname “Black Shark” How did you get it ?
Black Shark come from my trainer Hum. He taught me a lot and his Wai Kru. He owned a Thai cafe here and I would go there to eat and train. His nickname in Thailand was Black Shark.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I’ve been fighting since I was a kid. If anyone disrespect me or my friends at the time I was a hot head with anger problems. Muay Thai got me out of a lot of stupid shit I was getting involved in.

cody5

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to pursue Muay Thai as a career?
My family supports my path but of course would rather me stay home and work a normal 9-5. I tried that life and almost drank myself to death.

 

What is your current record ?
My current pro record is 23w 15L 7ko

 

What is your favorite strike or combination to use in a fight ?
I like to clinch and sneak elbows in through that point.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration in Muay Thai ?
My biggest inspiration is Ramon Dekkers he showed the world it doesn’t matter if you want it bad enough.

 

What team do you train with ?
I’ve been at a few places to train since I got back from Thailand in April Universal Muay Thai in Phoenix, Arizona. I had my own gym for a bit but I have my team Black Shark Muay Thai.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
What does being a fighter mean to me?
Well at this point it is just my job. It means a paycheck and not very much. So obviously not doing it for the money. But I’m a fighter and I’d much rather struggle fighting than live on my knees, hoping the system is going to do right by me and my family. I feel much better and sleep much better if I can fight for the opportunities ahead of me.If I give up I will have to learn a trade and go to school. This is the path for me and regardless if one day I end up under a bridge I will keep this path I will not lose sight of what I’m fighting for.I fight because it’s me. It’s who I am and where I’m most alive.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I was fighting around 130lbs in Bangkok but America has put weight on me haha I’m around 145lbs now I’d like to fight around 135lbs.

 

What separates you from other fighters ?
What separates me from other fighters? Mostly nothing. We are all capable I just have the experience. I’m just a normal person who refused to settle.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Dream fight.. I’d like to fight against McGregor in a Muay Thai fight.

 

Out of all your fights which one has been your toughest ?
My toughest fight would have been at the Burmese border fighting no gloves and got head butted in the jaw. Those Burmese boys are tough.

What is your mindset heading into fight night ?
My mindset going into a fight is another day at the office. I just want to fight well and keep calm.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
Don’t know who I’m fighting next. There are some possibilities being discussed.

 

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
At the end of my career I don’t care if I’m remembered I just hope I can inspire someone to think damn if he did it I can too. I just want to help light the way a bit.

 

Who has been the biggest influence on you and your career as a Muay Thai Fighter ?
The most influential person in my career would be Andy Zerger. All my roots and everything I’ve amounted to is thanks to him.

 

Who do you think has had the biggest impact and influence on Muay Thai ?
Biggest impact on the sport I’d definitely say Buakaw.

 

How would you describe your fighting style to a new fan of Muay Thai ?
My fighting style is traditional and I like to use tricks.

 

What drives and motivates you to step in the ring and compete ?
The drive to fight and compete in the ring is the motivation. Death and life. One day this life as I know it will be gone. It won’t matter what kind of car I have or home. Nothing really will. My only goal every time I step into a ring is to Inspire.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
People might not know that I was a monk for a while.

 

What do you thin you would be doing today if you had never found Muay Thai or become a fighter ?
If I hadn’t fought I know exactly what I’d be doing probably still selling drugs. But definitely working a job I hate and drinking my life away with no hope. Muay Thai made me believe that there is more out there.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Mental preparation just remember the struggle and the training.

cody7

Do you have any rituals that prepare you for stepping in the ring ?
I meditate.

 

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
When I’m about to walk out I’m thinking about the events leading up to this point and I keep in mind that I’m writing my story now!

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favourite fighter is Anuwat Kaewsamrit.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
When I’m not training I love to cook especially Thai food. I like to go to markets and flea markets and just look at what people are selling and doing. I like to people watch in places with seas of faces and different life. It’s crazy to think what kind of different life these people may have or their stories.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment would be when I won the Queens cup in Bangkok 2015.

 

Where do you see Muay Thai in the next 5-10 years ?
Muay Thai is going up and I can’t wait to see what fighters we can cook up here.

 

Where do you see yourself 5 years down the road ?
In the next 5 years I’d like to be back in Thailand and teaching English. Possibly open my own cafe in Bangkok.

 

What are your goals within the sport ?
My goal in the sport have mostly been checked off but there is one major goal I want to fight for a belt at Rajademnern or Lumpinee stadium.

 
Is there anyone you would like to than or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to give a shout out to.
Andy Zerger, Jonothan Balgame, Dave Brooks, Charlton Henri and
Uncle Hum RIP.

cody6

