shawn6

January 19th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Shawn Joffe
Weight – 145 Pounds
Record – 0 Wins 1 Loss
Team – Royal Martial Arts

 

Where are you from ?
Bryans Road MD.

How long have you been training ?
About 7 years now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
it’s actually a funny story. Me and my best friend had a falling out and we both had the same interest in bowling, so during our falling out I didn’t step foot back inside of the bowling alley and told my self I need to find something else to do to keep me occupied. I was driving home one night and saw a banner advertising MMA at Royal Martial Arts. I contacted Mike Wilson and took a few classes and decided to give it a try to possibly get a fight to see what it was all about. And well…..the rest is just history.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I don’t have an official nickname in the ring, but at the gym it’s “Clark” as in Clark Kent. The reason is that I don’t really look like someone who would compete in MMA and the fact I wear glasses i guess I don’t look like someone who would compete in MMA. So the nickname is pretty much how I go from “business man” out side of MMA to a completely different person in training and my fights.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
After my first fight which I had lost. I put so much time into training to win, that when I lost I told my self I’m better then that and I have to train harder. The fact that I’m so hard on my self I wasn’t satisfied and told my self that can’t happen again. So I just trained and the more I trained the more fun I had.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to pursue a career in MMA ?
My family….not so much, I lived with my grandparents and when I told them about it she kinda looked at me as if I was crazy and didn’t know why I would want to compete in such a sport. But now she just realizes she can’t change my mind. My friends on the other hand thought it was the coolest thing in the world even though they wouldn’t ever try it, they have supported me from day 1.

What is your current record ?
0-1 as a pro.

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
tough question, I don’t think I have a favorite of either honestly.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Probably my grandfather. Growing up he told me if you want to do something then don’t just wait around and do it, but make sure whatever it is you go for it 100%.

What team do you train with ?
Royal Martial Arts

When you step in the cage where do o you like the fight to take place do you like to stand with your opponent or take it to the ground ?
I prefer to stand and trade but wherever the fight goes I’ll go with it.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
A modern day Gladiator without the armor.

shawn3

What weight do you fight at ?
145 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters in the 145 pound division ?
I’d say my lifestyle, most people live and breathe this and don’t really get anywhere. To me it’s a Profession, yes but in the same frame I don’t give up what’s valuable to me such as my family where as most do and they lose sight of life itself.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I honestly have never thought that through.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Kevin Chung. It was crazy how that fight went. He had me in a deep arm bar and I just hammered down on his face multiple times and he held on to my arm like no tomorrow. I ended up losing but he was just tough and grinded out that fight and took whatever I through at him.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I fight like I do in practice, don’t try to be flashy and stick to what works for me. And over all things my mindset is to keep an even mind and don’t get to excited when I knock someone down and just finish the fight and not blow out my cardio.

Who are you fighting next ?
Alex Olave.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you will look to exploit when you step in the cage ?
I see a few as every fighter has them. But I keep that stuff to my self that way my plan doesn’t get compromised too much.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Strike Off Fighting Championship.

Date and time of your next fight ?
April 8 at 7 Pm in Manassas VA.

shawn4

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Someone who comes to fight and that person that doesn’t try to be to flashy but when it’s time to fight they know I’ll be there to put on a show.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Don’t really have one.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Making it to the pro ranks.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My wife, we started dating just as I began this sport and no matter my training schedule or my diets, she has supported me and understood that when it’s time for camp, she knows what to expect and doesn’t expect anything out of the ordinary. Even going through weight cuts, she deals with my attitude which I’m surprised she has for this long lol.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I’m going to catch so much flack for this, But Connor McGregor. His style is unique he knows how to get in your head and for the most part he can back it up. He also draws the crowd in and brings an exciting fight to the table each and every time.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Unpredictable, you can watch tapes on me and see that I’m not the same each time. One fight I may be defensive one fight I may be Offensive and on another note I may just push the pace. You never know.

shawn2

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
The fact that someone else is training to beat me and they are trying to hurt me.

What is something people might not know about you ?
My day time profession being a cop

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
In the winter I like to hit the slopes and go snowboarding, spring summer I’ll be on my motorcycle. But overall I’m big into cars as far as building them to look good.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Don’t think you can’t do it. Anyone can but don’t just sit on the side lines wondering what it would be like to fight. Get out there and train and see how you like it. You never know where you will get yourself with it if you don’t try.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Honestly, I would be lazy, overweight and more than likely out of shape. This helps keep me in shape and I enjoy doing this.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I like to keep my self relaxed and listen to music that doesn’t over hype me up. Actually before I start warming up I have a few Mariah Carey tracks I listen to which helps keep my down to earth and doesn’t let me think of the worst but just helps keep me calm.

do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Not really.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
where boxing was in the early 90’s.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
still training but more so getting the newer generation where they need to be when it comes to this.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Right now it’s so much politics. And I’m not a political guy.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Dan Hardy, his style of fighting is exciting to me and just how he likes to put the pressure on you.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out ?
All my training partners and teammates at Royal Martial Arts, Fran from Pinnacle Performance, without his help I wouldn’t be in this position. My wife and son for the continued support. All my friends and Fans who have followed me on this journey. The guys from Vape Jungle who support me help me out. My parents and grand parents, even though they may not support it 100% they are always there to support me just because they know how much it means to me.

shawn5

