tj2

January 23rd 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – TJ Towns
Nickname – The Saint
Weight – 140 Pounds
Team – Caged Dragon

tj8

Where are you from ?
I am from Ontario Canada

How long have you been training ?
The Saint started boxing in 2015 with Warriors gym of London Ontario. Six months ago I started training at Caged Dragon in Brantford Ontario.

How did you get in to Boxing ?
My family on my father’s side has a long history in boxing, I always wanted to box but my father said when you turn 16 you can box. He was surprised when I turned 16 and called him on it.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
The Saint nickname came about because of my religious background, community involvement and on a good day when I am feeling boastful, because I am just that good. lol.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
When I was told there is no place in boxing for girls. Now I don’t disagree with this in one sense, I often tell people I am here to rid the sport of women one fight at a time. When I say this what I am really saying is that I don’t see one’s sex, I see fighters no matter their gender.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Boxing?
No matter the sport I participate in my family has my back. The deal has always been commit to the sport and you will have unlimited support.

What is your favorite strike or combination to use in a fight ?
If I were to pick just one it would be the jab. I enjoy keeping everyone to the outside.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Too many to choose in the boxing community. I will say that when I encounter those needing a hand up in the streets I am more motivated when I head back to the gym.

tj7

What team do you train with ?
I train exclusively with Micheal Williamson and Caged Dragon in Brantford Ontario, about a 2.5hr drive from my house.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter gives The Saint the a stage, a pulpit, where I can preach my faith, my beliefs about everything from religion, to helping the less fortunate and most important an opportunity to hit someone.

What weight do you fight at ?
140lbs

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Willingness to fight and not take a backseat to politics or others beliefs. The Saint is never shy to share an opinion.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
If I could fight one person it would be Lucia Ryker.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I am always excited to fight, I am not a nervous fighter, I have played goalie in front of full arena’s of screaming fanatics, so in comparison boxing is a much calmer environment.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
The Saint legacy will be that no matter the repercussions, she kept her faith and stood her ground.

tj5

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Too many to choose.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Muhammad Ali he changed the way the world viewed the sport.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would describe my style as a counter puncher, my coach may differ in his opinion.

What is something people might not know about you ?
The Saint is a much better goalie in hockey then she is a boxer.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would be reflecting heavily on attending either a convent or seminary.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
When I have an opponent to fight.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the ring ?
No rituals, just the mentality of line them up I’ll knock them down.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
I’m going to make this fight short.

tj3

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I hand out Saint backpacks to those needing a hand up in the streets.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Golden Gloves Champion — Youth Boxing Scholarship — Platform to share my views on TV, Magazine, newspapers and websites.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in Boxing ?
Getting out of their own way. All women need to forget they are women and remember they are fighters in a sport.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Don’t get involved until you are certain you want it and secondly trust your gut.

Where do you see women’s boxing in the next 5-10 years ?
I see women’s boxing removed from the Olympics and I see the most dedicated taking Pro boxing to an entirely new level of skill.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I see myself continuing to live life to the fullest.

What are your goals within the sport ?
My goals within the sport is to simply hit the next person who steps in the ring with me.

tj1

To keep up with all he latest news from the saint click the link below to go check out her fan page
https://www.facebook.com/THESAINTTJTOWNS/

You can also follow TJ on Twitter at @TJ_TheSaint

