heidi3

January 24th 2017

Fighter Profile
Name – Heidi Wollebaek
Record – 1 Win 0 Losses
Weight – 170 Pounds
Team – Team Unbreakable

 
Where are you from ?
I was raised in Star Valley, Wyoming by my grandparents Kirk and Genell Luthi (Go Pokes).

How long have you been training ?
I started in 2012.

How did you get into MMA ?
This is actually a really interesting story. My ex husband was training with the team that I am on now and I asked him if I could join and learn to fight and he told me “No” because I wasn’t tough enough. So when he left in Sept of 2012 I thought you want to bet and I started training.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I don’t have one but I bet it would be something to do with being country.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
Growing up I didn’t have an easy childhood before I moved in with my grandparents and so I built up a wall and felt like I had to always fight for anything I wanted. I was never in any type of physical fights but I knew I was strong because I grew up on a cattle ranch, riding horses, fixing fences. So everyone really left me alone and never messed with me. My first fight I ever watched was of Matt Hughes and I was hooked but never in a million years thought I could do it till my ex-husband started training and when he told me NO I knew I was going to do it. You never tell me I can’t do something.
heidi2

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Both of my grandparents are passed away but I know my grandpa would have been so proud because he was a golden gloves boxer when he was younger. He always told me if anyone bigger than me ever picked on me I better get my first punch in good because it might be the only one I get. I can hear my grandma’s voice saying “ Oh Heidi” because she always wanted a girly girl but that was just never me. I know she loved me and would be proud of me either way.

What is your current record ?
1-0.

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Rear Naked Choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My Son Luke, I’m a single mother trying to balance a full time job, school and training and every day I come home tired or frustrated I look at him and know one day this will all be worth it. He can always say his mother never gave up no matter what. You can accomplish anything you set your mind to.

What team do you train with ?
Team Unbreakable out of Payson Ut under Aaron Garcia.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Either my coach makes sure we train every single possible angle to make sure we are ready. What does being fighter mean to you. It truly means never giving up no matter what stands in your way. You never know who’s watching.

What weight do you fight at ?
For my first fight I lost 65 pounds and fought at 135 this time Im back up at 170 and slowly going to work my way back down.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I will not give up. I don’t care if I’m bruised and bloody. I will smile through it. I train with mostly guys so that also really helps because if I can take a punch from them I know I can from any girl.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Holly Holm I know I don’t hold a candle to her but man I just look up to her. She is such an amazing person inside and out.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Ive only had one and that was against Jennifer Snyder.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I’m going to drag her to hell and back.

Who are you fighting next ?
Lyza Hermisillo.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can take advantage of for the win ?
I really don’t know anything about her besides this is her first fight and I hope to use that against her.

heidi6

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Steelfist Fight Night.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Feb 18th in Farmington Ut 6pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I fought for everything I accomplished and was never handed anything.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach and teammates. My coach has NEVER given up on me. No matter how annoying I am or hard to handle he’s always there for me. He sees potential in someone and builds off of it. He doesn’t try to change you. He sees what your good at and builds off of it. Also my teammates Ed Whitmore, Tanner Cowan, Jeremiah Guzman, Justin Van Horn, Justin Oswald, Trevor Carlson, Mckinley Smith. They are like the big brothers I’ve always wished for. They don’t take it easy on me because I’m a girl. In the gym I’m a fighter and I’m treated as one. I’m so thankful for each of them because I know they would never let me walk into the cage un prepared. I truly have the best team and support system anyone could ask for. They are my family.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Ronda Rousey. Look where she has taken WMMA.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Gritty.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My son is autistic and I truly do everything to show him to never put boundaries on yourself. You can accomplish anything you put your mind to ?

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’m going to school right now to become a police officer.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
People doubting me and also going through every possible scenario that could happen in the cage.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage ?
No I listen to music on the drive to pump myself up.

heidi7

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Lets get this shit done. Also my son is walking me out and I promised him I wouldn’t let anyone hurt me in front of him.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Tanner Cowan. My gosh he is one of the toughest guys I know. Also he is so humble and kind. He will do anything for anyone. He is such a great example of how I should strive to be in and out of the cage.. He also shows unconditional love for his wife Allison and their baby girl Ivie Jane.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Free time what is that!!! Lol I literally get up at 6 get ready for work leave by 7 work till 5 get home at 6 head to the gym till 9-930. Then I head home shower and crash lol. In all that craziness I love to snuggle and laugh with my son. He is the funniest kid ever. We love to watch movies and go on “Mommy/Luke Dates” we always end up at Barnes and Noble.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Losing 65 pounds for my first fight and then winning that fight.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
A lot of people don’t take us serious. When we get in the cage though there is a completely different vibe. We go for blood. We go all out and leave everything in there.

heidi5

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Don’t give up everything sucks when you first start. Everything is so hard at first but I promise things will start to click and then it becomes so much fun.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I really don’t know but look how far it has come. The sky is the limit.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I really hope to be married and have a bigger family. I am a little older than some of these up and comers so I know I can’t do this forever but I’m going to keep on swinging while I can.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To go as far as I can.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my coach Aaron Garcia. You have never given up on me. No matter how many times I’ve left and came back. You have always been there for Luke and I. You make sure I’m always giving 110% and you never accept any less. All my teammates and their wives (Tesa, Allison, Jessica) for always pushing me and picking me up when I feel like I can’t keep going. Lastly my little man. Luke you mean so much to me. You are the highlight of my every day. I love you more than to the moon and back!!!

heidi4

