jhonoven4

January 31st 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Jhonoven Pati
Nickname – The Samoan Savage
Weight – 185 Pounds
Pro Record – 1 Win 1 Loss
Team – Fort Hood Fight Team

 

Where are you from ?
Originally from the Islands of Samoa I Was an Army brat growing up so I was born in Germany , raised in North Carolina till I was 10 , and then moved to Texas and I have been there ever since.

 

How long have you been training ?
Since 2012 , so about 4 years now.

 

How did you get in to MMA ?
Funny story. We used to box in our locker room in high school and I was somewhat decent and one of my best friends dropped out of college and stared fighting and he remembered the high school boxing matches in the varsity locker room and told me to come give the sport a try . Thanks Geoff Neal lol.

 

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
“The Samoan Savage” After my first fight I was out of control like a savage and I’m SAMOAN lol so my coach said SAMOAN savage lol.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
The first day I touched the matt and got punched in the face and realized I was still moving forward though the adversity , I instantly fell in love.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to pursue a career in MMA ?
Yeah they were . Especially my dad and brother ! It was hard for my mother and sister and still is till this day but they support me because it’s what I love to do.

 

What is your current record ?
Ammy 7-0, Pro 1-1.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Straight , liver kick, spinning back kick, and body hook to the liver side.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My father , I just want to make this guy so proud !

 

What team do you train with ?
Fort Hood Fight Team.

 

When you enter the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to stand and throw hands with your opponent or take the fight to the ground?
Lol bang bro! I’m an islander ! The fight starts on the feet and that’s where I want it to stay ! I’m sure the fans agree !

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Fighting in the cage is a great analogy to fighting in life . Just like rocky said it’s not about how many times life knocks you down its how about getting hit and still moving forward !

 

What weight do you fight at ?
185, yeah crazy right ? A Samoan at 185 lol.

jhonoven2

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My team ! My coaches ! I have the best around Texas without a doubt in my mind ! They are a reflection of me ! Without them I’m nothing !

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Chris Weidman! Because he beat my hero Anderson Silva!

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Ryan span . He’s my only loss and if I fought him again it would be completely different ! I was inexperienced . It was his night ! But not a day goes by that I haven’t taken advantage of to never let that happen again!

 

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Be like water . Bruce lee! Literally ! That’s all that’s on my mind !

 

Who are you fighting next ?
Whoever they put in front of me !

 

What holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can take advantage of and exploit ?
Lol good try . Next question .

jhonoven3

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Whatever one will take me.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
In the works as we’re speaking.

 
What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Leaving people with something worth value in helping them be better people in life ! Life is more than what you see in the cage ! Just the way the you look at things ! Change your perspective in life !

 
What is your favorite quote or motto ?
So many but the most important to me is John 3:16 because without this there is nothing else !

 
What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Still being able to see today! Which isn’t promised ! Every new day is my biggest accomplishment! Because this sport isn’t forever , so everyday in it is a blessing !

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My family ! Including my girl ! And my COACH KRU KASIB ! And my brother Geoff Neal !

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Anderson Silva ! He was literally the best fighter to ever step in the cage ! And now Conor McGrgeor ! His story is what revived my career !

jhonoven6

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Muay Thai practitioner that knows how to wrestle lol.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
That fact that I’m alive , and I have another chance daily to make my family’s life easier by making it big one day!

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
That I’m truly a FAT KID at heart hahah. I love food so much! That’s why I protect my abs with a little layer of chub bahaha.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
I’m a huge gamer ! Love spending time with my woman! Love spending time with my church family ! Love to throw down on the Grill lol.

 

What advice can you give to the next generation of fighters ?
When you come into this , go in there with the best guy at the first gym you go to , and see if the sport is for you ! Because getting punched in the face isn’t for everyone , and usually the best guy will take care of you but he will also let you see some things to at least let you measure yourself and see if the sport is for you .

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Probably a wack 9-5 and just ….living a routine life ….boring right ?

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Seclusion . Training with my team . And staying at work , I don’t like to change my routine because it kinda makes me treat the fight like more than it is. It’s just a fight and I fight daily , so why act like it’s any different ? You know what I mean.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Prayer , prayer , prayer ! And don’t get me wrong . I’m not a guy that believes in praying for a win! God doesn’t work like that! He doesn’t bless a winner and a loser . He gives us the ability to work for that! I just ask him for the strength to take advantage of my abilities!

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years
In the UFC! Or working for another big promotion ! It WILL happen ! and Providing for my family and church because I made it to the UFC.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Get rid of the politics in the sport!

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Anderson Silva , Carlos Condit , Connor McGregor , in that order.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?

My woman Donna baby Ariana !
My family !
My coach KRU kasib , chad turner , Patrick Miller , Colton smith , Jamir Toledo
My TEAM
My friends
My fans

jhonoven5

