vanesa7

February 3rd 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Vanesa Rico
Nickname – Chiquitina
Weight – 105 Pounds
Record – 2 Wins 2 Losses
Team – Fisico Marcial Team

 
Where are you from ?
Alicante.España.

 

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
30 years a lifetime jaajaja.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
By my coach and partner of my gym I showed up and we started to train together.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Chiquitina is my nickname because I am veryyyy small and everywhere I go I was told that.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
All my life, my first competition in Judo I was 7 years old.

 

When you decided to pursue MMA where your family and friends supportive of that decision ?
Everyone supported me even though my mother was scared.

 

What is your current record ?
Sherdog 2-2.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Juji gatame (arm wrench).

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my Mother she is a fighter of life.

 

What team do you train with ?
I train with my team Fisico Marcial Team with Monica Gaitan who is the coach of K1 and was an MMA fighter.

vanesa6

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to stand and bang or take it to the ground ?
Striker the grappler ? Depends on the moment but always I always come to fight.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter for me is a way of life, to overcome myself to prove myself.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 105 pounds Atomweight

 

What separates you from the rest of the fighters in the Atomweight division ?
What I think separates me from the others is my usual conditions to train where I am from there are not many means and there are even less being a girl and being only 48 kg.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
The fight of my dreams they are all those opponents that I faced at great events.

 

Out of your 4 fights who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
Gina Iniong she took advantage of my mistakes very fast.

vanesa1

What is your mentality heading into a fight ?
My mentality before the fight is Vanesa Enjoy and do not leave anything out there without giving 100%.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Kyra Batara.

 

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to exploit or take advantage of when you step in the cage with her ?
Kyra’s weakness is she is 22 years old and I am 36 there are 14 years between us that add up to my experience.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Fight America in Los Angeles.

 

What is the date and time of your next fight ?
February 16, I do not know the time. it will be aired on UFC Fight Pass.

 

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
That I was a big fighter of 1.50 cms.

 

Who has been the biggest influence on you and your career ?
The person who has influenced me most to compete and then fight is my judo coach and Olympic champion Miriam Blasco.

vanesa3

 

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on women’s MMA ?
Ronda Rousey has had a great impact she was my partner in judo training.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is Dynamic, active and explosive.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
What motivates me is that I have had a hard life away from my family with hard illness problems in my family and I have never stopped fighting and dreaming.

 

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
If it was not fighting I would be a competitor of some other sport.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for your fights ?
What mentally prepares me is thinking that I am where I want to be and that I enjoy training the fight is the prize.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step n the cage ?
I listen to music and sing hahaha.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Megumi Fuji.

 

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
I enjoy making friends going to the cinema, and going out with friends.

vanesa2

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Making it to the finals of the National Championship of my country in Judo.

 

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
The biggest challenge is to be recognized with the same equality as the men.

 

What advice can you give to the next generation of female fighters ?
My advice to the young ones are to have fun enjoy it and always give the maximum effort and smile.

 

Where do you see women’s MMA in 5 years ?
On the same level as the mens MMA.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In my Fisico Marcial gym enjoying the fight game and training my students.

 

What is your goal in the sport ?
My goal is to reach for the sky of MMA I still do not know what it is but I will arrive.

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank in closing ?
I want to thank Rosa Freitas she believes in me she is my manager and I am Spanish away from her and I do not doubt she is my wings, my physical team martial and Monica Gaitan they are my motor and my sponsors that help me to make all this possible.

vanesa4

