linton8

February 20th 2017

 

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Linton Vassell
Nickname – The Swarm
Weight – 93kg (205 Pounds)
Record – 17 Wins 5 Losses
Team – Combat Club

 

 

Where are you from ?
I was born in England.

 

How long have you been training ?
Thinking about it 11 years now, times goes by so fast.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
Funny and long story but I will make it quick, me and the boys were all play fighting in my garden, and I got matched up with my friend who was an MMA fighter, and I did a WWE move called the Rock Bottom, I ended up knocking him out by accident, and from there my friend introduced me to his MMA gym, and the rest is history.

 

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
A former sponsor was watching my fights and said do you have a nickname, I said no I don’t, he mentioned the way you fight is like a swarm of bees, you just swarm people.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
My first major title was when I knew this is what I want to do.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to purse a career and compete professionally in MMA ?
100% and they still are today.

 

What is your current record ?
17-5.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Kimura and the RNC.

linton7

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
There’s a few guys I looked up to when I first started my career, Royce Gracie, Randy Couture and Ken Shamrock.

 

What team do you train with ?
Combat Club.

 

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you try to keep it on the feet or do you prefer taking your opponent to the ground ?
I’m a ground guy, that is my world.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
This is what I love, to me this is my life.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
93kg Light Heavyweight.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m a whole different kind of fighter, I’m very unorthodox, I have my own style of grappling.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Fedor.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My first fight against Emmanuel Newton.

linton6

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Mess him up and finish the fight.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
No opponent yet or fight date. Waiting to hear back.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Bellator MMA.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
My Great fights, and my legacy.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto?
DOUBT KILLS MORE DREAMS THAN FAILURE EVER WILL.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Fighting for my country, for Bellator at the British Invasion UK vs USA.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Not one person, it’s the people I have in my team, my friends and family.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I will have to say Conor, he brought so many new eyes to the sport, if I ever spoke to someone about MMA, they would always bring his name up.

linton5

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Literally just like my name The Swarm.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
To be the best.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I had no interest in becoming a fighter.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
Go on Holidays, hang out with the misses, eat and sleep ha ha.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
The time is now, pick a discipline that you like and make that your base, and when you are ready you can start some wrestling or Jiu Jitsu, and bring them together.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I probably would still be working on site as a builder, I was a bricklayer for 16 years before I started MMA.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I’m all calm leading up to the fight, and then I get in to my zone when I start warming up, it’s not a nice look ha ha.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
No I don’t believe in anything like that.

linton4linton3

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
If it’s not nearly there it will be bigger than boxing.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
World Champion, and the face of Bellator.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I think Bellator is doing a great job with the events they are doing, they have themed events sometimes and I think that makes a huge difference.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I don’t have one but it use to be Randy Couture.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to give a shout to all my sponsors
Hayabusa
The Warehouse MK
Defends soap
Gordo Nutrition
The 86ers
Determined Records
Dc Mouthguards
Alienware
Vassell’s Beauty
A big shout to my team the Combat Club and Csmma, my teammates my friends, family and all my supporters. My manager Kyle and Matt, and especially to my girl Gina for bring right behind me.

 

To follow Linton and keep up to date on all his late breaking news click the link below to check out his fan page

https://www.facebook.com/LintonTheSwarmVassell/

linton2

