abc1

February 21st 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Amanda Bobby Cooper
Nickname – ABC
Weight – 115 Pounds
Record – 3 Wins 2 Losses
Team – Scorpion Fighting System

 

 

Where are you from ?
Bath, Michigan.

 

How long have you been training ?
Took my first boxing fight at the age of 11.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
My dad got me into boxing and when I was just out of high school. My dad suggested I try MMA. I told him I would try one fight so he called a local promoter and set up a fight for me.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname is my initials ABC. I go by both my first and middle name so making my nickname ABC made it a lot easier to be known.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I started fighting and a young age but I never thought it would become my career until after high school when I was in my first semester of college and I was miserable because I wasn’t able to train as much as I could. So I decided to quit school and focus on training.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete professionally in MMA ?
I have an amazing support system and I have never had to worry about anyone in my family being unsupportive.

 

What is your current record ?
Current record is 3-2 excluding my TUF wins

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Arm bar.

abc6

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My coach James Gray is my biggest inspiration. I wouldn’t be who I am now if I had never have met him.

 

What team do you currently train with ?
Scorpion Fighting System.

 

When you step in the cage do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I prefer standing with my opponent and making a show for the fans.

 
What does being fighter mean to you ?
I love living the martial arts life. Each day I focus on being a better fighter and a person. Not just in the cage but outside of the cage as well.

abc2

What weight do you fight at ?
Strawweight (115lb).

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I have everything I need to make it to the top. The team cop Ma the support system, the mindset, the believe, and skills, but I also know how to be humble and understand that hard work is the only thing that will keep me successful.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I don’t have a dream fight. I try not to think about what’s next when I have a fight on my mind.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight was Aspen Ladd in Invicta.

abc5

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset is always play my game and make it my fight.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
Can’t say.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
UFC.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be looked at and admired by young girls. I want people to be entertained when they watch me fight and know that I did everything possible to be successful.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach James Gray.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Conor McGregor.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Technical and composed.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
I want to leave a legacy and live a life that I’m proud of.

abc4

What is something people might not know about you ?
I am incredibly afraid of birds.

 

What is your favourite fight quote or motto ?
“I hated every minute of training, but I said, ‘Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.'”

 

What do you think you would be doing today if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Probably still trying to figure out what I wanted to do in life and what makes me happy.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
When I was in the TUF house my family and friends wrote me letters to keep me motivated, I read some of the letters before I fight each time.

 

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head at that moment ?
“This is my time, no one deserves to beat you.”

 

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Dominic Cruz.

 

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Video games.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Going to the finale for The Ultimate Fighter.

abc3

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I think women put a lot of pressure on themselves.

 

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Make sure you are willing to sacrifice a lot and willing to put in hard work in order to become successful.

 

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I believe all the women’s weight classes will be in the UFC in just a few years, I don’t see the women’s division being any less than the men’s.

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
In 5 years I believe I can be at the top of my division in the UFC.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My coaches, training partners and family.

 

To stay up to date with Amanda and all her late breaking news click the link below and go check out her fan page.

https://www.facebook.com/AmandaBobbyCooper/

abc7

