rustin2

March 6th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Rustin Hughes
Nickname – The Short Fuse
Weight – 145 Pounds
Record – 4 Wins 0 Losses
Team – Team Trials MMA

 

Where are you from ?
Born and raised in North Platte Nebraska.

 

How long have you been training ?
A little over 10 years.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
My friend Noah Thomas took me to the gym he trained out of and I was hooked.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Rustin “The Short Fuse” Hughes.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to compete in MMA?
After my first month of training, I started training at 32 and when I realized I could hang with these young bucks.

 

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in Mixed Martial Arts ?
Most were some weren’t. I try not to concern myself with other people’s opinions.

 

What is your current record ?
4-0 MMA.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
The D’arce choke.

rustin3

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Myself.

 

What team do you train with ?
Team Trials MMA out of Ft. Collins Colorado coached by Ryan The Lion Schultz.

 

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I am comfortable with both.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Not giving up and to keep moving forward even when the conditions are not favorable.

 

You are an adaptive athlete can you explain to people what that means ?
I am an athlete who finds creative ways to get things done.

 

What does being able to compete and live your dream mean to you ?
I lost my wife to brain cancer in 2012 and I lost my leg in 2014, I had no idea what I was going to do with myself or even what I was capable of doing. I was in a pretty bad place, then I reached out to Ryan and he would pick me up and take me to the gym and I would hit the heavy bag while he taught class and I would hit mitts after his class. From that I was able to relearn my balance,stability and most important my confidence. I would love to complete just one more time, just to show that no matter how tough life can be that I am tougher.

 

What are your thoughts on the Adaptive Boxing Organization and the work they are doing for adaptive athletes ?
I think that it is an awesome organization helping people showcase their talents.

What weight do you fight at ?
145 pounds.

rustin4

What separates you from the rest of the fighters at 145 pounds ?
My work ethic and heart.

 

If could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Conor McGregor.

 

What has been your toughest fight to date ?
Losing my wife.

 

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Calm, cool, and collected.

 

Who are you fighting ?
Looking for one.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Hopefully Sparta Combat League.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I never gave up.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
The purpose of fighting is to win. There is no possible victory in defense. The sword is more important than the shield, and skill is more important than either. The final weapon is the brain. All else is supplemental.

rustin5

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Starting an Adaptive Boxing program for others.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Ryan Schultz.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Fluid.

 

What drives or motivates you to compete ?
Telling me I can’t do something.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
Riding my hand cycle.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Make sure this is what you want to do. You can’t half ass this.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Dead.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Watching the movie 300.

rustin6

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Coaching and training.

 

Where do you see Adaptive combat sports in 5-10 years ?
Hopefully boxing will be in the Paralympics by 2020.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make adaptive combat sports better ?
More exposure to the public, to show that people of all abilities participate in combat sports.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I don’t have a favorite.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My girlfriend Britta for understanding me. My friend and coach Ryan Schultz. Everyone at Trials MMA. My family.

rustin7

