rebecca6

March 9th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Rebecca Adney
Nickname – She-Hulk
Weight – 125 Pounds
Record – 4 wins 1 Loss
Team – The Wrecking Crew

 

 
Where are you from ?
Delavan, WI but I am stationed at Fort Hood, TX.

 
How long have you been training ?
Since 2011.

 
How did you get in to MMA ?
I was teaching a Modern Army Combatives class at the Fort Hood fight house and one of the Soldiers that worked there asked me if I could spar with one of their females. I said yes and after that session the head guy asked if I wanted to fight and I said yes to that too.

 
Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
She-Hulk. My coach gave it to me because I am really strong and when I get angry my veins and muscle swell especially during my fights lol.

 
What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
Honestly after my first fight. I only had 1 month of training with no background before my first ammy fight. After that fight I was hooked. It is the hardest thing physically and mentally I have had to endure when it comes to sports and I fell in love with it.

 
Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in MMA ?
Friends, YES. At first my mom wasn’t but once she saw what I could do she became proud and gets really excited. My whole family gets excited now when I have upcoming fights. They are very supportive.

 
What is your current record ?
4-1 Ammy, 0-0 as Pro

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Going to be elbows going into the pro ranks and any submission I can get is my favorite lol

 
Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Chris Cyborg. She is a beast in the cage and trains her ass off.

rebecca4

What team do you train with ?
The Wrecking Crew.

 
When you step in the cage do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Stand and bang, but I will go wherever the fight takes me.

 
What does being fighter mean to you ?
It’s a lifestyle.

 
What weight do you fight at ?
125 pounds.

 
What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
I will go wherever the fight takes me and I have the mindset of ending the fight quick. I am coachable and listen to my coach.

 
If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Don’t have a dream fight yet BUT I do want to fight the top 125 lb WMMA fighters throughout my pro career.

 
Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Emily Ducote.

 
What is your mindset going into a fight ?
This is what I trained for, all this hard work and dedication I put into camp is going to pay off. It’s time to shine.

rebecca3
Who are you fighting next ?
Shana Dobson.

 

What holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can take advantage of when you step in the cage ?
I believe she is an overall fighter, she has won by submission and with strikes.

 
What promotion are you fighting for ?
XKO (Xtreme Knockout).

 
Date and time of your next fight ?
April 1st 2017 at 6 pm CST.

 
What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as one of the top pound for pound 125 female fighters, and as an inspirational fighter for future WMMA fighters.

 
Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach Cedric Marks.

 
What is something people might not know about you ?
I have served in the military for 15 ½ years.

 
What is your favourite fight quote or Motto ?
“If they stand behind you, give them protection. If they stand beside you, give them respect. If they stand against you, show no mercy”.

rebecca2
What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Well, the only change would have been, I would have just been working out and running half marathons.

 
What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Music.

 
Who is your favourite fighter ?
I have 2 – Chris Cyborg and Joanna Jedrzejczyk.

 
When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Just relax, listen to music, watch TV, spending time with my significant other and his kids. Being in the military and going to college among training I am always on the go and the only time I have to relax is when I am not training.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Being undefeated (my last 4 fights) under my coach Cedric Marks AND making my pro debut. This debut is a tremendous accomplishment for me.

 
What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Earning as much pay as their male counterparts and getting sponsors.

 

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Listen to your coach (be coachable), be dedicated to your training and stay motivated. Always take your losses as a learning experience and cross train.

 
Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I think women’s MMA is only going to keep growing and I think the younger talent is going to grow immensely.

rebecca1

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Fighting for Invicta FC, and being retired from the military.

 
What are your goals within the sport ?
To become known for throwing elbows and leg locks and becoming one of the best strikers in the sport. Also to make it to the Invicta FC and Bellator.

 
Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My coach Cedric Marks for always pushing my potential and always making sure I am prepared for my fights. My team for always being right there beside me during training pushing me. My manager Mac Michaud for always having my back from day 1 and doing what he can for me. My family for being so supportive and my friends. All my fans who support me. I want to thank my current sponsors and any future sponsors I get: Title Boxing Killeen Texas, Howard Fidler and x-ion-x performance bands, Grit Mouthgaurds, Doug Ehmke with Battleborn Clothing, Sport Food Inc for always keeping me fueled during my workouts with electrolyte sprays, Kurt P. Leffler with K-Bay Martial Athletics, Chad Davenport with Mind Entertainment LLC, Thomas Bussey for letting me make my pro debut on the XKO 35 card, and any other potential sponsors I may get for this fight.

rebecca7

