nathan 1

March 15th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Nathan Lang
Nickname – The Insane Nathan Lang
Age – 9 Years old
Weight – 76 Pounds
Record – 58 Wins 6 Losses
Team – SSSF (South Shore SportFighting)

 

 
Where are you from ?
I’m from San Diego but i live in Marshfield, MA.

 

How old are you ?
I am 9 years old.

 

How long have you been training ?
I have been training almost two years.

 

How did you get in to Kickboxing and Jiu Jitsu ?
Somebody at my dad’s work told us about a summer camp with Scott and Bill and right away I liked it.

 

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I have a couple of other nicknames, too. Clubber Lang from Rocky 3 is one of them and Langer is another one. I thought of “The Insane Nathan Lang” on my own because my coach, Bill Mahoney, says I am a freak at fighting.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
When I won my first sword at my first NAGA tournament.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of competitive combat sports ?
My mom was a little nervous but my dad was happy right away.

 

What is your current record ?
58-6.

nathan 2

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
I really like arm bars, but I like figuring out other submissions to win with while I am competing.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I really like watching my friends compete at tournaments, it inspires me to get better all the time.

 

What team do you train with ?
South Shore Sportfighting in Norwell, we also call it SSSF.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like ground fighting the most.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It keeps me happy and focussed and I like being part of the SSSF team.

nathan8

What weight do you fight at ?
76 lbs, so usually the under 80lb division unless I need to move up to get challenges.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m better. I’m fast and tricky. Bill says I have crazy legs.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I’ll fight any 9 year old in the country that is in my weight class.

nathan 3

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
5 of the matches I have lost have been the toughest and have helped me work on my skills, the other loss was a dumb mistake I made and I got dq’d, so I learned from that, too.

 

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
That I will win.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
I don’t know yet. Looking forward to finding out.

 

What holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponents game that you can take advantage of  ?
I plan to crush them no matter what.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I compete in NAGA, Goodfight, Tap Out Cancer and whatever tournaments my dad signs me up for. I want to fight at Cage Titans or the UFC.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
The Goodfight Tournament in New Hampshire. April 8, 2017.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Being awesome.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“Win”

nathan7

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning 15 expert divisions at NAGA in just over a year of competing.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach, Bill.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I think it is Anderson Silva because he has had the most title defenses and is probably the best fighter of all time.

 
How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is being fast, loose and going for lots of submissions.

 

What drives or motivates you to compete ?
I like winning all over the country and I also like having a big bacon cheeseburger after a competition.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I also play for the Boston Jr. Terriers hockey team. I am left wing.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
I like to surf in the summer in the winter I like to skate on my hockey rink in my yard if it is frozen.

 

What advice can you give to other young fighters ?
To keep training and don’t give up.

nathan5

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Playing lots of hockey!

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
My mom is a massage therapist and she give me sports massage while I am waiting for my matches.

 

Do you have rituals that get you ready to go to step in the ring, cage or on the mats ?
No, not yet.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
There will be more kids training MMA than ever before.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Being one of the best 14 year old fighters in the country.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Manny Bermudez, who is one of my coaches.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank everyone at SSSF for helping me become a good fighter.

nathan6

