maria1

March 20th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Maria Barry
Age – 11
Weight – 95 Pounds
Record – 4 Wins 8 Losses
Team – SSSF (South Shore Sportfighting)

 

 
Where are you from ?
Whitman Massachusetts.

 

How old are you ?
11 years old.

 

How long have you been training ?
3 1/2 years first 2 1/2 at Hard Knocks.

 

How did you get in to Muay Thai and Jiu Jitsu ?
I started Muay Thai as conditioning for soccer, within weeks I stopped playing soccer and committed to Muay Thai.

 
Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
No nick name yet, isn’t that my teams job?

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
During my first fight camp for the War Time promotion. I felt extremely accomplished.

 
Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of competitive combat sports ?
Yes they all tell me im going to be great, my friends think it is wicked cool.

 

What is your current record ?
4 wins and 8 losses.

maria2

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
My favorite sub is a triangle, it’s a fast quick choke. My favorite strike is a spinning back elbow the damage it can cause is unbelievable.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Definitely Joe joe from SSSF, come on he taps people while smiling ! And Julio Pena from hard knocks. He was always super supportive when I would see him in the gym!

 

What team do you train with ?
South Shore Sportfighting (SSSF).

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Standing is my strong area. Have you seen my kicks?

 
What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Its means I have courage. It means i am able to front face any obstacle in life.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
depends im a growing girl I might wake up tomorrow an inch taller and 5 lbs heavier!

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Right now I would say my passion and determination. SSSF is my life you can catch me in the gym 6 days a week!

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I don’t necessarily have a dream fight. Right now im busy building my confidence and worrying about my game!

maria4

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Nadia from Xtreme ninja it was my first time entering the ring. She was a strong well trained Thai fighter.

 

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
You can do this you can do this you can do this.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
Not sure. I’ve been focusing on BJJ and the tournaments are always different.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Any grappling tournament my mom signs me up for

 
Date and time of your next fight ?
May 6th I think.

 
What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Being true to myself.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
She knew she could so she did it.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Making the step from training to competing.

maria5

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My Mom and Dad they made this commitment with me.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Conor McGregor he’s a mouthy one. He has totally brought MMA so much Attention.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Confident and technical.

 

What drives or motivates you to compete ?
Getting punched in the face and watching the adult SSSF fight team.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m obsessed with running.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
Make slime, climb trees, and just be a kid.

 

What advice can you give to other young fighters ?
To always try your best, and don’t let others words bring you down.

 
What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Track and Field.

maria7
What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
My mother screaming at me.

 

Do you have rituals that get you ready to go to step in the ring or cage ?
Just your typical warm up.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I see it growing. Hopefully more women.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Hopefully fighting for the Cage Titans promotion.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Conor McGregor.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Bill Mahoney my coach he has definitely given me back my confidence. My PAPA for being my personal photographer, Mike DiNella for suggesting me, Danielle, Manny, and Antione for supporting the kids class and helping coach us! And of course Joe Joe for my private lessons. Also Andy and Bill from Hard Knocks for teaching me Muay Thai fundamentals.

maria6

