robbie8

March 21st 2017

 
Fighter Profile
Name – Robbie Ring
Nickname – Razor
Age – 16 Years old
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 3 Wins 0 Losses
Team – Southwest Martial Arts Academy

 

 
Where are you from ?
Wytheville, Virginia.

 

How old are you ?
16 years old.

 

How long have you been training ?
12 years.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
I guess you can say I was born into Martial Arts, My mom is a 6th degree black belt in Tang Soo Do Karate, and was a former professional kickboxer, My dad is a 4th degree black belt in Combat Jiu-Jitsu as well in Tang Soo Do, and is the head coach of our MMA team at Team SWMA. So as far as I can remember being in a dojo has always been a part of my life.

 

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
One of the assistant coaches gave me the nickname because he said my striking was looking razor sharp.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I kind of feel like it has always been my calling in life. Like I said before, I really never have known a time when Martial Arts training was not a regular part of my life.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of competitive combat sports ?
Oh yeah! As I stated before, I doubt it came as much of a surprise to anyone that I would follow this path.

 

What is your current record ?
(unofficial) 3-0.

robbie7

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
I have had pretty good success with my overhand right. I also like to incorporate many different striking combinations in order to keep my opponents off balance. I have developed some unorthodox combinations that seem to work really well for me. As far as submissions go, I really have taken a liking to lower body locks, Ankle Locks, Heel Hooks. Etc, but I feel very confident in performing all kinds of various submissions.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My mom and my dad, they have always been here for me. They have helped me remain humble in times where it was difficult to be, I don’t know what I would do without them. I always strive to make them proud of me.

 

You have prom coming up pretty soon I heard there was a special lady you wanted to ask out?
Hahaha, Yes I do, I know it’s probably a long-shot, but I was hoping to get Paige Van Zant’s attention and see if she can work it into her schedule, It would be the biggest thing to have ever happened at my high school. If she sees this, tell her to contact my mom on Facebook “Kimberly Hansrote Ring”.

 
What team do you train with ?
Team SWMA out of Wytheville, Virginia.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I have had success with both, My last fight I won Via Flying Knee, and the one before that I won by armbar from guard.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a Fighter means everything to me, It starts with discipline, I train 6 days a week every week, Its more than an image to me, It’s my life.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I have fought from 125-155, but moving forward I will be fighting at 135 pounds.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Number 1, My work ethic. For the Past 3 years I’ve missed a total of 2 training sessions at my gym. I’m constantly working on improving myself, both physically and mentally. I do not have other things pulling my focus away from training.

robbie4

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Kazushi Sakuraba, because he has fought everybody, and he doesn’t give up!

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Kenny Robison which was my first fight.

 

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
When going into a fight, I am of the mindset that I have done everything that I could possibly do to prepare for the fight. I have the utmost confidence in my coaches and the level of training I receive at Team SWMA. I always feel prepared for whatever might come my way.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
It’s not yet determined, but I would really love a chance to test my skills against the current Titans of the Cage Bantamweight Champion Shane Hazelwood.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can take advantage of ?
He’s a pretty solid fighter with a record of 10-1. I am longer than him, and feel that my hand speed would present him with a problem that he has not yet had to deal with. I am also very hard to submit. I think it would be a great fight, and a great opportunity.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Titans of the Cage Fight Promotions.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
To be determined, possibly July 4th, a stadium show in Independence, Virginia.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for my fighting spirit, I want everyone to remember me as a fighter who was tough, exciting, always gave it everything he had, and never ever gave up.

robbie6

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“Infuse heart, soul, spirit and passion because talent is not enough”
Dominick Cruz.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
So far I’m undefeated in the cage and I have gained quite a bit of recognition in my area in Virginia. I have won a knockout of the night award, as well as a fight of the night award already.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Again, my parents. My dad is my MMA coach, as well as my Jiu-Jitsu coach, some of my close teammates has also influenced me quite a bit, especially my closest training partner Ray Ray Holston, My Strength Coach Brian Pisani has positively influenced me.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
George St Pierre has had a major influence, but the fans have the biggest influence of all, because without them the sport wouldn’t keep moving forward.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would say I am pretty well-rounded, My style is rooted in basic old-school fundamentals, but I am constantly trying to evolve all elements of my fight game and I regularly incorporate the most modern techniques of today’s fight world.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
The desire to be the very best version of myself, I have big goals in fighting, I know there big, but I feel through hard work and perseverance, I can make all my fighting dreams come true.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
Back before I started applying myself in Martial Arts, I went to a Jiu-Jitsu tournament without practicing and got tapped out by the same girl 4 times! She wouldn’t stand a chance now though.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
I love going on the boat and fishing with my uncle and dad, I just don’t have the time to make it happen a lot.

robbie5

What advice can you give to other young fighters ?
Don’t allow anyone or anything to distract you from your goals, be willing to always work as hard as you can, then a little more than that, don’t be afraid to push past your comfort zone.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
A large majority of kids my age are all into drinking and partying. These things do not fit within my goals. I think that more kids could benefit from Martial Arts training to keep them from going down a bad path.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Staying loose and relaxed and talking to my teammates throughout the day.

 

Do you have rituals that get you ready to go to step in the ring or cage ?
After weigh ins on Friday night after I have replenished my fluids I like to do some meditation, Where i visualize positive things happening in my fights, then get a good night’s rest, waking up totally refreshed.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I think that MMA is still steadily growing, I would like to see more and better opportunities for fighters especially more regional opportunities for professional fighters as they make their way to elite promotions such as UFC and Bellator. I would also like to see more respect displayed during the sport.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I hope to be fighting professionally in the UFC or Bellator. I also plan to have graduated college with a degree.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Dominick Cruz.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My coaches, My Team, All of the fans that support me, Titans of the Cage for giving me the opportunity to test my skills inside the cage. Just a few people by name, Greg Ring, Kim Ring, Keith Goines, Brian Pisani, Ray Ray Holston, Micah Sheffey, Tyler Cardwell, Tiffani Underwood, and Blake Musick, Stacy Perkins.

 

To follow Robbie and keep up with all his late breaking news click the link below to check out his fan page
https://www.facebook.com/razorrobteamswma/

robbie1

